Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Golfin'
Written on Saturday, May. 18, 2002 at 12:32 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Mini-golfing rocks. Even if I do suck at it, hehehe...

The centerpiece sorta thing, which is a castle, has an arcade inside. I'm not much on most arcade games, but they had Donkey Kong. I haven't played that game since I was a little kid, visiting my great-uncle (who had Atari). It was entirely too cool. Lola got the top score in Ms. Pacman (a game in which I'm lucky to get past the first level, ha ha ha). She was quite impressive.

I, on the other hand, was terrible at Donkey Kong. Sure, I could excuse myself and say, "But it's been YEARS since I've played it!" but I won't do that. I'm just happy to have had the experience. I'm going to hire some guys to steal that game and hook it up in my house, hehehe....

Ironically, before playing it again tonight, I'd been thinking that the game would be super easy. HA HA HA!!! Not that it's hard...I dunno, I'm seriously more used to the normal Nintendo controllers (sans joystick). *shrugs* "Enough with the Donkey Kong, already!" I hear you saying. So I'll shut up.

Right as we were about to pay to get into the mini-golf course, Darth Vader's theme could be heard playing from Lola's purse. It was her phone (I wish I had the Darth Vader ringtone, hehe). Turns out, it was Mom calling, but we missed her, so I had to call her back. I didn't expect her to talk so long, but Lola and I were probably sitting there for 10-15 minutes (maybe even more)! I felt bad about making her wait. But here's the good part about the whole conversation...

All the guys at work apparently miss me. *beams* Mom said that Frank told her about us text-messaging each other earlier today, but he couldn't get his last message through because he "wasn't in an AT&T zone," or something like that. She said it really upset him, hehehe...

When I asked if Geoff missed me at all (I said that jokingly), she started laughing. Said that he's really kept to himself since I've been away, and so today she went up to him and said something like, "I'm going to take Amber's place, since no one talks to you now that she's gone."

"Yeah," was his reply...I forget what else was said, but Mom told me, "He really acts like he's lost without you, I have to say that."

Maybe Lola's prediction will come true after all, eh? ;)

And now, back to golfing. Because I ended up talking for so long, a whole bunch of people got ahead of us. Lola and I were behind a group of three young guys and a girl, and while Lola and I zipped through each hole, they took a long time (both because there were 4 of them and because they couldn't play, ha ha). At the...third or fourth hole, I think, they told us to just go ahead of them because we were moving faster than they were. So that was nice (even though I felt really awkward with them watching us play that hole).

We met up with them again a couple of holes later, because one of the courses had been difficult enough that it backed up a couple of groups. The blond-haired guy (who acted as if he was high) joked to me that I should hit his ball into the hole (be quiet, Laney!), to which I replied, "I can't even get MY ball up there!"

Lola helped me cheat, hehe (that's the best part about playing mini-golf, lol), but then...my ball got stuck! It was one of those courses where you hit your ball into a hole up top, and then it falls through to the finish at the bottom. But mine got stuck somewhere, so I had to walk past that group of guys again and search for it. I couldn't see it and was about to walk back down, when the blond called out, "Is your ball stuck?"

This all sounds so perverted now...just shut up, alright? :oP

"Which hole did you hit it into?" he asked, running over to me. I told him, so he threw his golf ball down...and sure enough, both of them rolled out at the bottom. As he ran down to retrieve his, he yelled to his friends, "Hey, I got a hole-in-one!"

It was a fun night. I don't know who won, because someone *coughLauracough* forgot to add up the scores! *grins teasingly* Doesn't matter, though, because I really enjoyed myself!

And afterward, we went to Dairy Queen. Berry was happy.

And that is the end of my story. Except to say that I think I got a little pink from the sun. WAHOO, go me! ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!