Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Lessons in announcing
Written on March 10, 2002 at 9:22 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

"You won't get your check if ya don't punch the clock..."

Oh, PUFF! That lyric reminds me that I STILL did not get my paycheck! By the time I go back, now, I'm going to have two checks to get! I'm off now until Thursday, and Thursdays are Pay Day. I was off last Thursday, so I didn't get my check then. Eeeesh, do you know anyone who forgets to get their MONEY?? I might as well be working for free! :

Hehe...I seriously didn't even think about my check until that lyric played (The Guess Who's "Bus Rider", btw, hehe)! I'm so pathetic.

Disney Princesses
Which of the Disney Princesses are you?

Yay for Lola and her not-new-but-improved quiz! ;) I still got Belle, hehe...

Work today, surprisingly, wasn't as bad as I'd feared. It was so busy that Dave never had time to organize that meeting with him, Mom, and John. And by the end of the night, I decided that I'd try being nice to John again because otherwise, I'll wake up every day dreading work so much that I feel like crying (as happened this morning).

Geoff was just cooler than usual today, but as seems to be the trend lately, I don't feel like explaining why because I just feel silly gushing like a silly girl. Even to you, Diary.

Frank actually succeeded in putting me into shock today. I went over to the pizza shop to grab their container of sugar (we had an open bag of sugar in the bakery, and neither Mare nor I knew WHY it was there, so I decided to get rid of it). As I was walking past Frank, he says:

"You look nice today."

I stopped, turned, and quirked a brow at him. "Thanks..." I said hesitantly, giving him an uncertain smile. Where had that compliment come from? I didn't look any different than usual!

He shrugged it off by saying that he was in a good mood, then exclaimed, "So don't ruin it!" and grinned.

It was all just a little too weird.

Mom told me later that he'd told her what he said, and I think she said something along the lines of, "She looks nice every day!" and he replied with, "I know, but today I felt like telling her!" Then, apparently, Geoff was walking by. So Mom said, "I think you should ask her out."

Frank said, "I think I will ASK HER OUT." (Saying it loudly enough for Geoff to hear.)

I don't know if Geoff actually heard or not, but eesh! Hehehe...If I told Frank I wanted him, he'd ask me out in an instant. ;) Just kidding...I'm not THAT conceited, for goodness' sake!

There is an undeclared, one-sided competition now between the bakery and the meat department. Today, some guy from the meat department made announcements about the sales that were going on. He talked too softly for me to be able to hear (unless I got really close to the phone's intercom), but it was still better than Zenon's announcements. Both Zenon and I were like, "Okay, we have to outdo them!" *giggles*

Unfortunately, Zenon got "better" confused with "louder". He made his first announcement as I was walking to the break room, and all I could do was shake my head and laugh. Geoff was on his break as well, so we were joking about how loud Zenon was. Well, a few minutes later another announcement was made, and I actually flinched because he was talking so loudly into the intercom! And it was the silliest announcement, too.

Meat Dept.
1
Bakery Dept.
0

The meat department's announcements were all really long and everything, but if the guy had spoken a little louder, they would've been good. He spoke clearly, so at least you could understand him (assuming you could hear him, of course, ha ha). Zenon's announcements are all pretty much the same: "Good morning/afternoon, shoppers! Fresh from our oven, 99-cent baguettes/Pane di Friuli!" and blah blah. But they all fit in the same basic mold. And yet he still finds ways to screw up. *giggles* That's alright, though, I still like 'im. ;)

He left around 2-something, and so the last bread announcement of the day was left to moi. I've never had to announce both baguettes and Pane before (in one announcement, that is), but I had to today, and I got all nervous wondering how I could do it. Bob tried helping me, but in the end I told him I knew what I was doing. Don't mess with me, boy, I'm the MASTA!

"Good afternoon, shoppers! Today in our bakery, we have French baguettes at 99 cents each. Also, on sale this week is Pane di Friuli, at $1.79. So stop by the bakery and pick up some bread for dinner tonight!"

LoL! I know, my bread announcements aren't exactly the most interesting things in the world (or the most brilliant, either), but oh well. I have fun doing it. And today, I got an added bonus after the announcement was over! ;)

The phone beeped, signaling that someone was paging the department, and over the intercom (just the bakery's intercom, not the whole store's), I hear two voices chorusing, "Yayyyy!!!" The most obvious of the two was Geoff's, because the other voice was in the background. I picked up the phone, laughing, and found out that Don was the other person cheering. Turns out, while I'd been making my little announcement, Don had been like, "Hey, that's good! Who is it?" Geoff knew his Berry, though. ;)

Right after I hung up with him, the phone beeped again and I heard Frank's voice go, "That was byooooooteeful!" He must've been waiting by his phone 'til he saw the little "bakery" light go off. Hehehe... I'm so loved.

Bob, the 17-year old that does setups a few nights a week, is too cute. He's very quiet and polite, but once he gets to know you he's really friendly and he talks a fair bit (still in that quiet-ish voice, though). I could almost wish he was my age, because he's really good-looking, too. I think I might've drooled on the table the first time I met him. ;) Okay, maybe not, but he IS quite nice to look at. *chortles*

So anyway, tonight he came over to me and said, "How old do you think those two girls out there are?"

"Umm....18 or 19," I guessed. Then I grinned mischievously and continued, "Why don't you go out there and talk to 'em? 'Hey, baby, what's your age?'"

"I can't do that!" he protested. I wasn't looking at him, but I could hear the grin in his voice. "I'm shy!"

I'd figured that out ages ago, but to hear a guy admit that he's shy, to me, is just about the cutest thing in the world. I don't know why...maybe just because it shows he isn't cocky and arrogant like 99% of male youth.

"That's so cute!" I laughed (which probably embarrassed him). "I can say that because I'm older."

"Oh yeah, three years," he retorted.

Bob is cool. ;)

Alright, I believe that's all for this entry. I'm about to make a new one that will be nothing but quizzes that I have stolen from Jam. *smiggles*

"Places to go, important people to meet
You'd better not get up or you might lose your seat
Bus riiiiiiiiiider..."

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!