Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: A future in broadcasting?
Written on February 17, 2002 at 5:57 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Through some twist of Fate, I got to leave work at 2 today instead of 4:30. Sure, it's only 2 1/2 hours cut off, but that's better than nothing! And I did quite well for not being able to see Geoff! *giggles* Though I still have to get through Tuesday, bleh...This entire week is screwed up because of the holiday. I'm not even going to TRY to get into all the scheduling intricacies here (because I don't understand them myself), but basically we get more days off because we're only supposed to have 32 hours or something weird like that...Hopefully next week will go back to being somewhat normal!

At any rate, I went up to Joanne today and said, "How do you think he'd react if I called him at work tomorrow night?" He has to work 'til midnight tomorrow, so I figured that if I called around 11 or so, I'd have a good chance of catching him while he's not busy. If I can actually get up the nerve to call, anyway...

Though I don't remember her exact response, she basically told me to go for it. And when I asked Mom later, she said she didn't think he'd mind if I did...not exactly an encouraging response, but oh well...I'm still not sure I'll do it, but at this point I can at least be sure that he wouldn't wonder why some strange girl was calling him...

Since Zenon wasn't working today, I was the one who had to make the "fresh bread" announcements over the loudspeaker. I only had to do it twice though, fortunately. It was my first time announcing the Pane, though, so I spent an insane amount of time trying to figure out what "speech" I'd use. *giggles* Mare was the one taking the bread out, and she came back to the bakery with a teasing, "The bread's getting cold!" as I stood there wondering what to say. In the end, I gave a cheesy:

"Good afternoon! Fresh from our oven is Pane di Friuli! It makes a great addition to any meal and it's only $1.99, so stop by the bakery and pick one up for dinner tonight!"

Hee hee!! I think all this up on my own, mind you. I'm just THAT good. :oP You'd think I was rehearsing for some lame commercial! But speaking of commercials...

Cathy came over a couple of minutes after I made the announcement and said, "Why haven't you gone to school and.." blah blah, I forget exactly how she said it, but it was something to the effect of me becoming a voiceover actress for commercials. *chortles* Apparently, I have a very nice "broadcasting voice". Even though Zenon called me a Smurf...he's just jealous, bwa ha ha...

He totally messed up yesterday. He'd just finished making an announcement for baguettes about 5 minutes prior to bagging up the Pane, and so when he went to announce the Pane, I knew he was going to screw up the prices. Baguettes are only 99 cents, and Pane is $1.99. So when he started talking over the loudspeaker, he said, "They're only 99--$1.99..."

I can't really make fun of him for that, because I know it's something that I--or anyone else--could just as easily do. In fact, I'd already imagined (before yesterday) what would happen if I accidentally said 99, and so I've decided that I'll say this:

"They're only 99--dollars! Wow, what a deal!!! If I could talk, I would've told you that they're $1.99, but since I can't, I invite you to stop by the bakery and pick up a loaf..."

Think that'd fly? I wonder if I would get in trouble. I don't see why not...I mean, how smooth is that? ;) I could do it, too (though I'd probably end up giggling hysterically); despite the nervous shaking that ensues each announcement, I actually kind of like being The Announcer, hehe...Oh well, I'll screw up sooner or later. ;)

Got Bertie Bott's Every Flavour Beans (finally!) today! They have such great flavors as horseradish, sardine, black pepper, and booger...I made Mom taste the weird ones (though admittedly, it was more her decision to taste them than mine). One of them was this weird white-with-tiny-gray-speckles color, and I told her that it could be coconut, sardine, or horseradish. She popped it in her mouth and began chewing...only to find out that it was the sardine-flavored one. Apparently, while it tastes more like an anchovy than a sardine, it's still quite strong. *clicks away the stupid MSN popup for the 50th time* Hehe...I wonder if I could persuade her to try the booger-flavored one after that experience...

I have no more stupid interesting stories to relate to you, Diary, so I'm going to leave you. Perhaps I'll return later tonight...you know I just can't leave you alone for long.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!