Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Hooked on a feeling
Written on February 13, 2002 at 8:52 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

WOO HA!

*smiggles*

Today, technically, wasn't all that special. Well, at first anyway. Bwa ha ha. We had our "Model Store" inspection today, where all the higher-ups of the company walked around to see if we'd cleaned absolutely everything there is to clean (the point is that we're supposed to make everything look as it did on Grand Opening day). Weeks of work, and these guys spent maybe 5 minutes in each department. Geoff said they pretty much skipped right through the frozen department without even looking. Heh.

And our corporate leader person is so phony. He's got very shifty eyes, the sort that slide right over you when he's talking...y'know, he'll say something to you but not quite meet your gaze? It's just obvious how fake he is. I hate people like that.

So anyway, because today was the Big Day, John made sure that everyone in the Food Service department was scheduled (so that all the departments looked full). As a result, there was like NOTHING to do. I came in around 10:30 and packed some bread, baked one or two little things, and made Pane...and that was it. After that I was just twiddling my thumbs. I even offered to thumb wrestle with Mare, but she refused. ;)

Oh, but I got to make a baguette announcement, hee hee! From now on, whenever we put out baguettes or Pane we have to make an announcement over the loudspeaker, and usually I just make Zenon do it. But I'd gotten a little spiel all planned out, and despite my nervousness, I really wanted to do it. So I finally got on the intercom and said:

"Good afternoon, shoppers! Fresh from our ovens are French baguettes. They go great with bruschetta, which can be found in the prepared case of our Food Service department, and best of all, they're only 99 cents! So stop by the front of the store and pick one up on your way out!"

Hee hee! Zenon had been putting the baguettes up front when I started my speech, but by the end he was in the bakery and he had this look on his face like, "Whoa!" Heather was like, "Great job!" and even Jason came over, LoL! But then Zenon made a quip about, "I thought there was a Smurf talking or something!" and that just ruined the moment. ;) No, not really...I know my voice can sound somewhat childlike, so it's no surprise, hehe!

Anyway, it was SO boring that I left the department a couple of times and went over to talk to Geoff. ;) Then after awhile, I took the trash back to the compactor...and Mom happened to be there at the same time. "Do you have anything to do over there?" I inquired, and she rolled her eyes in an "It is SO boring" manner. I asked if we could leave early (it was probably around 3 by that point), but she said no because she has to have 40 hours or sommat. I dunno. I was really bummed out because I didn't want to stay there 'til 7, so she was like, "I don't know who else could take you home..."

Our conversation pretty much ended there, as she had to go back to Produce. As I was walking away from the compactor, I saw Geoff over to my left.

"So, I don't suppose you'd feel like swinging by [town] on your way home, would you?"

I said it in a completely teasing manner, not even expecting him to accept or anything. But he was like, "Well, I have to drive by [town...hehe], but if you don't mind...?"

"Oh my gosh, you'd actually drive me home?" I blurted incredulously. It was just too ODD!

Thankfully, John and Zenon let me go early, so after we both finished up a few things, we left! Woot! Of course, everyone in the bakery pretty much knows that he drove me home, because I was so elated about it. ;)

We took a "Genuardi's Tour", hehe...The town where he was going has a LOT of Genuardi's stores around, so I think I saw...*tries to count* at LEAST 4, if not 5 or 6 stores, hehe! I know, totally interesting, right? I also saw where he grew up--would've met his brother as well, I think, except his brother wasn't home! He was the reason Geoff had had to drive all that way, too. But that's alright, I enjoyed just driving around and seeing new places!

When we got back here to the apartment, I figured he'd drive up near the door and let me out or something, without actually getting out of the car himself. :oP But he parked and walked in with me...I forget what time it was. It seems like it was around 6-ish, but I could be wrong. Anyhoo, we sat down and started talking about various stuff...He stayed there until almost 8:30! It was nice, though, because I hate being here in this apartment by myself.

But yeah, that was about the extent of things. Well, as detailed as I wanted to go here anyway, hee hee! ;) I'm still a little in shock over the fact that he agreed to take me home!

Oh, shoot, I forgot, hehe...I don't know if I ever wrote this in here, but awhile back (when I had all those problems with Kirsten), Erin told me that Geoff had a girlfriend, blah blah...One of the things she'd also said was that he and his girlfriend had gone up to Canada together or something. By this point, I'd figured all that to be a lie. But as Geoff was filling up his gas tank, somehow we got onto the topic of Canada...Oh that's right, he mentioned a city there and I thought it was some kind of Orient city, but turns out it was in Canada! So I said, "Oh, I've never been there...have you?" And he said yes! >_<

NOT that it means anything, I know. Well, he really COULD have gone there with his girlfriend, but that doesn't necessarily mean he still has one, right? Then again, maybe he just considers me a friend...Ohhh, I don't know! What a horrid thing to think about! Anyway, tonight was still cool, so I'm going to try to hold on to that feeling. ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!