Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Conveying personality
Written on December 27, 2001 at 6:40 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Took Blackie to the vet last night because he'd gotten attacked by another (bigger) dog on Saturday night. At first, we didn't think he'd been hurt, but Bear (the other dog) had gotten Blackie's ear. It's not TOO bad--there's a little puncture, but nothing terrible--but Blackie's our baby (at 8 or 9 years old, heh), so we weren't about to let him go without a vet checkup! Both Mom and I figured the bill would reach up to $100 (especially when the vet told us she was going to give us TWO prescriptions), but it was only $44, which is VERY good!

I then asked if she knew anything about spaying/neutering rabbits, and she said she had more experience with neutering them. Terrific! I'd wanted to take m'boy booneh in, anyway! So I got an estimate on how much it would cost...at the very least, $115. Ouch. They charge as much for a rabbit as they would for a cat, which is understandable (since many rabbits can grow to be as big as a cat), and I'd been expecting it to be around that much...I've got until about early to mid-January, which is when Cadbury should be having her next litter. *sighs* On the one hand, I'm excited to see the new babies, but I still wish it had never happened.

Speaking of wishing things had never happened...I wish we'd never gotten Pierre. I really do. And it's not as if I would give him up now, because I believe that once you buy an animal, you're agreeing to care for it for the extent of its life, just as you would a child. So even if Mom was agreeable to the idea (which she isn't), I wouldn't want to just abandon him. But I can't help wishing that Mom had never gotten him. We're not home enough to train him, and today he went through the trash and made a terrible mess. He kept digging through the trash even after Mom and I got home! He's REALLY starting to grate on my nerves.

Anyway, back to last night. After the vet trip, we took Blackie home and then went to the mall. The first DVD that I'd wanted to get was Labyrinth, but there's only one store in the mall that sells movies/music (there used to be 2 or 3 music stores, but they're all gone except one)...anyway, I couldn't find that movie anywhere. Ended up getting Shrek and You've Got Mail, which used almost an entire $50 gift certificate. That was insane. I think I got like $9 in change, but GEEZ! Shrek was like $22, and You've Got Mail was about $14...If I hadn't been so impatient to get movies to watch, I probably would have waited to find something cheaper. Though DVDs ARE more expensive than VHS anyway (their only downfall thus far).

We went to Best Buy and Circuit City afterward, and nobody had Labyrinth. Nobody! Why is it that when I don't want/need DVDs, they're out in spades, but as SOON as I want to buy it, it's gone? I'm not even exaggerating, either; that's what always happens. If I'd really really wanted Shrek or You've Got Mail, they wouldn't be around, either. I have about as much good luck with that kind of stuff as I do with romantic pursuits (but hey, spinsters have more freedom, so why should I complain?)...

Urgh, Frank's online...it's the first time I've ever talked to him online before, hehe! For some reason, I don't really like to talk to people online that I know IRL. Whereas in real life, you can see facial expressions and hear the voice tones, when you're "talking" on the Internet all you have to go by is typed words. So if someone just writes like "how r u?", to me that has absolutely no personality. And I KNOW that the person has personality, but it doesn't show through at ALL in their writing!

I like to think that when I IM people, my personality shows through in my writing. A lot of it's because I capitalize and punctuate and all that grammar stuff. It sounds stupid, but I get more personality from writing when it's got all that stuff! Like Lola and Jam and Demmy, for the most part they all use proper typing skills (*giggles*)..I mean, it's not like we're ALWAYS making sure we put periods at the ends of our sentences, but...*shrugs* I don't know, I just get more personality from what they write than, for example, Frank (to tie this all back into what I was originally talking about, hehe).

In person, Frank's got a really cute personality. But online, where you can't see his little grin or hear his laugh or anything, he just seems very blah. Maybe it's a lack of smilies or indications that he IS laughing at anything I say (I use smilies and laugh-words a LOT, hehe), but I'd much rather talk to him face-to-face than here on the Internet! Even on the phone is better, though I dislike phones (and I can hardly ever hear people on the phone anyway...I'm always like, "What? Huh?")...Bleh.

Kerri's like that too, though Kerri's annoying whether you talk to her on- or offline. Oh man, she was irritating me SO badly today! All she talks about is herself. I used to really like her when I first met her, but by now it's just like "Oh boy, here she comes...RUN!" She thinks she's the best pizza-maker in the store--she's always telling people about how certain customers will go up to her and be like "I won't eat the pizza here unless you're the one who makes it!" and blah blah blah. When the fact is, there've been more people who have complained about her pizzas than complimented. And she acts like she's the only one who knows how to do anything in that department...like today, she was complaining about how Nick messed up the pizza dough or something, and "I knew I should have done it myself!" As far as I know, Nick has never made pizza dough before. He works in the rotisserie section, and the most he does over in Pizza Shop is heat up slices for people. He's not fully trained over there (that I know of), so of COURSE he's not going to know what he's doing!

Ugh. I just don't like self-centered people. It's pretty much the main reason why I finally broke away from Mel; I couldn't stand being around someone so superficial. But then I kind of wonder if maybe she's not TOTALLY stuck on herself...she gave me a Christmas card this year (well, it was just put in my mailbox, but still). Not that a Christmas card is a sudden "I care about other people!" sign, but it was still a nice gesture. I don't know. I'm still friends with her in a sense, I suppose, but I'm not going out of my way to get in contact with her. If she wants to hang out, it's up to HER. I'm by no means going to run around trying to get in contact with her.

So lessee, anything else to talk about? Hehe...Frank just signed off, David's on...I wish the other guy would come online again; I talked to him the other night and it was so much FUN! For the first few minutes, I was afraid it was going to be one of those really awkward, "Okay, what do I say now?" conversations. But after the initial weird silence, we just started talking about all sorts of stuff! It was fun! I said that already, hehe...

Okay, I'm going to go now. Gotta give Blackie his second pill for the day, clean his ear, let Pierre the-dog-from-hell outside, and then do other stuff. Maybe I'll hook up my foot spa. I could use the relaxation, hehe...

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!