Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Of thieves and traitors
Written on December 21, 2001 at 9:41 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Wrap your brains around THIS one. My mom's manager, Jim, told her a lovely story yesterday, complete with the testosterone overflow that always serves to annoy.

He and...his wife, I guess? were shopping at the King of Prussia mall the other day. Jim spotted a bag lying forgotten on one of the benches. Inside were various items, including ornaments and a 14-karat gold necklace that said "Mother-Daughter" (or something to that effect). He took the entire bag and walked out of the mall with it.

He stole this stuff, and he has no remorse about it whatsoever! In fact, he says he's going to give that necklace to his young daughter! What a JERK! I mean, first of all, whether it's Christmas or not, stealing something like that is SO wrong. Stealing PERIOD is wrong, of course, but a necklace like that probably had a lot of thought put into it! And come on...would you really WANT a "gift" that was stolen rather than thought about and purchased (or made) by the person who gave it to you? I wouldn't care if I was given the item I desire most in the world; if it was stolen like that, it would mean absolutely nothing. It would be trash.

Oh yeah, Jim also found a training bra that must've fallen out of someone's bag. I privately think he kept it so that he can wear it under his clothes and feel feminine, but Mom says that he told her he was going to give it to his niece. "Here you go, hon, here's a nice BRA that I found on the floor for you!"

He's like one of those homeless guys who goes digging through the trash looking for anything of value. I wish there was some way to get those items back to the person who bought them, because it's TERRIBLE that he could have been so callous! He and this other guy were in the back room grunting in celebration because of Jim's apparent "manliness". Oh, I'm sorry. I wasn't aware that scavenging was a male characteristic of which to be proud.

Anyway. To the funnier stuff.

There's this American guy named John Walker who was arrested because apparently, he was fighting for the Taliban. I don't know the whole story, so whether there IS actual proof that he was fighting is beyond me. That's not what's funny, though.

My department manager's name is John Walker.

All this stuff in the news has caused no small amount of amusement for those of us who work in the food service department. Several weeks ago (when Taliban John first made it into the news), there was a picture of him in the newspaper. I cut it out and then Zenon taped it to John's computer, where it still is now. But just the other day, Cathy taped up a headline that read "Don't be in such a hurry to condemn John Walker."

Ohh, Taliban John, thank you for making my job a little more amusing.

Anyway. I have to get up at 6 am tomorrow morning, so I'd best tell Chatty David (who actually IS being chatty tonight) to shut up so I can leave. ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!