Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Trials in the bakery
Written on November 19, 2001 at 7:42 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Arrgh!!! Nintendo GameCube was released yesterday!

That means that all the Nintendo 64 stuff is gone now, doesn't it? Or is it just going to be phased out slowly? Like, the stores'll still have it, but they're not going to get new stuff in, they're just going to try to sell all the stuff they have now?

HEY! That would mean they'd probably have some spiftacular sales, huh? I should go ASAP and nab all the stuff I wanted! The controllers are the most important..but I'd like to have more than three games, too! :oP

Oh well, I'll worry about that later. Remember how last night I was whining that I didn't want to be around dating couples right now? And then I said I wasn't sure if I wanted to go out Tuesday...well guess what? I couldn't go out anyway! Thanks to the fact that I have to work the same schedule as Mom (due to not only my license-lacking state, but also the fact that we have only one car), I have to work 10 to 6:30 the rest of the week. That SUCKS! I'm so angry! Granted, it's only two hours later than my usual time, but I don't like being at work so late anymore! BLARGH!

Must talk of good things. My day started off quite well: Geoff was in the bakery when I walked in. ^_^ I kind of rushed up to him and half-hugged him. Well, his back was to me, so I put one arm around him...though for some reason I didn't really put it all the way around him...y'know how like if you've just gotten your hands dirty and you try to hug someone or whatever but you don't want to get THEM dirty so you just kinda partially hug them? *laughs* This is the stupidest conversation I've ever had with my diary. Anyway, that's kinda what it looked like I did. Dumb. It was nice for me, anyway. ;)

Then I went on what was supposed to have been my 10-minute break, but just as it was ending...yup, Geoff walked in. So I ended up staying back there for about half an hour. >_< As I said in the last paragraph, however, it was nice for me. *giggles*

Today was SOOO hectic! Since Thanksgiving is coming up, not only do we have to put out a lot of pies and breads and things for people, but customers were constantly coming up asking for dinner rolls or ordering pies...This one woman ticked me off! She wanted a lemon meringue pie, but she asked me if we made any larger sizes than the one we usually sell. No, I told her, it's just the one size. So she started to give me her pie order, then she goes, "Who could I talk to to find out if you make any larger sizes?"

For a second I just stared in disbelief. Then I drawled, "The manager...but I know we don't make them in larger sizes." Stupid wench! What do I look like, a high school dropout working at McDonald's? "Yah, uh...ya want fries with tha'?"

The order continues to progress, but then we get stopped because she wants us to make the pie THE day she's coming to pick it up. We had a lady who was coming on Tuesday for a lemon meringue pie as well, and we can't just make one one day and another one the next...I mean, not only do the mixes not come in single-serve packages, but HELLO! We've got other stuff to do besides cater especially to you! There's other things we need to get done for those who aren't as anal! So at any rate, the woman says something like "Who is the manager that I would talk to?"

I didn't particularly want to bother Zenon anymore that day...he's been so battered, what with the stupid setup kid quitting abruptly, and everyone getting on his case, that I felt terrible bringing ANOTHER problem to him. But I called him over and let him deal with her, because any more of her assinine comments and I would've just told her to go make the darned pie herself.

That was about the worst of it (as far as customers go), thank goodness. It was just irritating being in the middle of something, and then looking up to see a customer staring at me...that's what they do. They just stare, hoping maybe they'll discover that they have telepathy and can therefore communicate with me without even having to open their mouths. Unfortunately, not a one has yet proven to have this ability. If it weren't for the fact that it's been programmed in me to look up every so often, those people would just go on standing there 'til they figured out that if they move their lips and vibrate their vocal chords, they can speak.

What REALLY annoyed me was having El Stupido (aka Bryan) "working". I don't know if it's part of his mental capabilities (or lack thereof) or what, but he CANNOT tell when people aren't in the mood to joke. Today, Zenon and I were both really irritable (him moreso than me), and Bryan just kept meandering around with that horribly annoying high-pitched voice of his. A five-year old could probably work faster than him. Zen and I would've just been better off working by ourselves, for goodness' sake! In the four hours that he was there, he packaged and labeled a rack of pies (which would take anyone else maybe an hour at MOST), and labeled some tea breads. Oh, and he managed to screw up the labeling of the baguettes, so that instead of having 12 labels reading 99 cents, he had 12 labels reading 12 cents. He ended up dropping a stack of pumpkin pies, at which point Zenon swore vehemently and then said he was going to the back room. Bryan then had the nerve to say that Zenon was being mean. Yeah, you schmuck.

As I was waiting for Mom to finish, I decided to hang out in the room where employees clock in and out (because the manager's office is in the next room and you can stand there and watch the cameras, hehe). This other mentally not-so-there woman comes in and is waiting 'til it's 2 minutes before 6 before she punches in. Meanwhile, she just STARES at me. And when I moved, she continued to stare at me. Finally I got creeped out and left the room. But what is up with this store? I know I'm sounding pathetically rude, and businesses aren't supposed to discriminate against disabilities, but these people need to have their hand held all the time or they can't do anything! And a business can't be run efficiently when you need to BABYSIT the employees! *tugs at her hair*

Followed Geoff around for a few minutes after that. *giggles* I'm sure he's probably like "This kid is SO annoying," but oh well, some way or another I'm going to get him. *grins brightly*

Anyway, I think that's about all. I'm going to wrap up this edition of my life, and I hope you all enjoyed yourselves. Hehe...riiiiight, like that ever happens. ;)

What happened to Lola? Did she get grounded? I haven't seen a new entry! *scuttles off*

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!