Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: My shopping trip
Written on October 27, 2001 at 8:18 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Sickness report: I think this is now a full-fledged head cold, and I left work early because I felt so pathetic. Bought me some generic brand medicine...this stuff is EXACTLY the same as Dayquil (all the same active ingredients, in the same amounts), but it's generic and like ten times cheaper. So instead of paying nearly 5 bucks for a brand name, I paid a little less than 2 dollars for the same stuff with a generic brand name. Guess who'll be buying generic brand medicines from now on?

However, no matter WHAT the color of this medicine (the kind I have happens to be orange, like Dayquil), it still tastes disgusting. I'd been hoping maybe it would taste like orange or something, but no. It has to taste like that Vicks 44 or whatever the label is! I guess it probably tastes like Nyquil, too, but I so very rarely take medicine that I can't remember.

Mom told me she "yelled" at Geoff. I was like, "What for?" and she replied, "I told him 'you got my daughter sick!'" He'd replied with "No I didn't, she got me sick!" Now how could that happen when he got sick before I did? Hehehe....

Anyway, so I left work, and I was hoping to just go home and nap, but then Mom asked me if I wanted to go to Barnes & Noble. I almost said no, but I've wanted to go to this store for SOOO long so after a few moments of deliberation, I said okay. And I regret to say that that was quite a disappointing excursion.

If ever I want to go to a Barnes & Noble, I will travel the 6+ hours to go to the one up in Nashua, New Hampshire. You can't even imagine how nice that one is until you step inside. It's like walking into a really old, elegant library. When I first entered this Barnes & Noble, the first thing I saw was the children's section at the back of the store. How could I have seen it, you ask? Because the entire fraggin' back wall is painted with characters from children's books! So overall, the place had the ambiance of a pediatric office. Not even the nifty cafe over in the corner could add maturity. And the building was SO much smaller than the one in Nashua! Yeesh, I could've gotten lost in the Nashua BN, but this one didn't seem big at all!

So I regret to say that I will probably stick to shopping at Border's (unless BN has lower prices), because the atmosphere is nicer. ;)

Lessee...oh yeah, after BN, we went over to Best Buy. It's funny how it seems like most women get a high off of clothing/beauty stores...I, on the other hand, am in seventh heaven when I step into electronics and book stores. Hehe...they're just more fun than clothes! But I digress. I went to Best Buy with the intention of looking at the video game section, and I bought...Super Mario 64! Whee! It was the highlight of my day. ;) Mom and I continued looking around (I'm thinking of buying a small TV to put in my room so I can play video games), and then we came to the computer desks/chairs.

There's this desk there for about $130 that'll be PERFECT! Had I been more enthusiastic, we would have bought it today, but the fact that we most likely would have to assemble it ourselves was a big deterrent. Not that we could find anything already assembled, but this desk was so big and complicated-looking that I didn't even want to think about trying to put it together! However, Mom and I have already decided that we're selling pretty much all our old furniture to buy new stuff, so I'll wait 'til I get more money before I go buying desks! ;)

Then we stopped by the laptops. I don't know why, because looking at them just made me want to buy one! The cheapest was like $1399, though, and there wasn't even a display model out so I don't think they had any! But they've all got Windows XP, and it just looks so sleek and pretty, and I want one!!!!

But there's no use crying about it...maybe ONE day I'll get another laptop! ;) I should tell Dad that's what I want for Christmas. If he even asks me if I want anything, which he probably won't, the cheap bastard....

*ahem* Next stop was this little diner which makes good breakfasts, but the dinner there SUCKED! I won't bother going into the details of what I ate, but it just wasn't all that good.

One more stop after dinner, and that was Walmart. I got that clock radio I'd talked about in another entry. *grins* I compared the TV prices, too, but they're way more expensive at Walmart than at Best Buy, so if I get one, it'll be at BB!

Speaking of that again, though, I had this fabulous idea for a shelving thing for my room! It's actually somewhat modeled after an old thing we used to have, but it would hold my "entertainment system" (such as it is). On the left side, there'd be a cabinet to hold miscellaneous stuff, and then above that would be a space for the television. Then on the right side, the shelf would be wide enough to hold all 3 of my Nintendo systems ('cause I like playing all of them!). Of course, there'd have to be more shelves, so maybe there'd be spaces for a VCR, and spaces for my video games and movies to go...

I'd have to build it, though, because even if I did manage to find something exactly like what I imagine, the price would probably be terrible! And I was thinking of how hard it would be to build one (the task seems less daunting to me than making clothes, LoL!), but I think it would take much more effort than what I'm imagining! Do they make "patterns" for that kinda stuff like they do for clothes? *giggles* That question alone is enough to tell you how much experience I have in the building department! Ooo, I should ask Mel...think she'd know, Tiff? *grins teasingly*

Ermm...it seems like there was something else I wanted to talk about...Oh yeah!

Super Mario 64. I'd just like to say that thus far, I liked Paper Mario soooo much better! This game is hard to control, and he's got too many freaky moves that just don't seem needed. Besides that, I like playing the old-fashioned linear games (where you just run from Point A to Point B, with no ability to run into the foreground or background). In this game, you can go all over the place AND change camera angles (that's not just a frivolous thing, you actually NEED to change angles sometimes), so it's annoying for someone like me, hehe...In this one level, I had to go down an ice slide, and it was so hard for me to control! He kept falling off the edges into space, and Mom and I were both screaming when Mario skidded too close to an edge. Aggravating! I liked the baby penguin in that level, though...every time you picked him up, he'd start crying. It sounded cute, hehehe!

I'm going to have to take a stop at The Mushroom Kingdom to get some hints 'n things!

Okay, and I think that's it. I'm talkin' wif mah Jam, which is more important than writing in here 'cause I hardly ever get to talk to her anymore! So nyah to all the rest of you! (I know, you're all just SOO offended :oP )

Wait, I forgot to tell you my booneh story! *smiggles* Okay, I went downstairs to feed my bunnies (drat, that reminds me I forgot to put fabric softener in my laundry!)...I buy bags of food which I then transfer into a plastic tub (which is easier to handle), and I had to pour in a new bag. Well, this bad didn't have a little notch to rip off the top of the bag--instead, it had that annoying little scissor icon which meant I had to cut the top off! I don't have scissors in the garage, so I tried nipping off a small piece with my teeth, to make my own tear notch. ;) Didn't work. So I thought, "Hey, Cadbury likes to rip at plastic!" I stuck the corner into the cage, where both bunnies had their noses pressed eagerly through the bars, and sure enough, Cadbury took hold and started ripping. Took several tries, but he gave me a nice notch to tear off the top of the bag. I KNEW I got those cute little bunzles for a reason! ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!