Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Rambling...my fort� ^^;
Written on June 25, 2001 at 1:24 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Just five days until my birthday!!! You'll all send presents, right? ^^

It feels so weird, the thought of being 20! I mean, I guess it's really no different than being 19, except that...well, it's like you're ACTUALLY an adult, because you no longer have the 'teen' suffix on your age! Do I really WANT to be an adult? I guess it doesn't matter...no matter WHAT age I am numerically, I'll probably still act younger! ;o)

Mel and I went out tonight (we couldn't get in touch with Tiff), and since we didn't know what to do (what CAN you do on a Sunday night?), we went to Wal-Mart. The one near us is open 24 hours, so it's turned into our "Let's go here if there's nowhere else to go" place! ;) We got bored, though, and so we were driving around a little bit before Mel said, "I know where we can go! As long as they're still open..." Naturally, I was curious as to where she was taking me, but I soon found out.

We went to see Tomb Raider. While waiting to get in the theater, I saw a poster for the Harry Potter movie coming out in November...I really want to see that movie! *giggles* Mel thought I was silly, but really, what's the difference between going to see that and going to see...Shrek or something? Not much! But I digress.

Tomb Raider really wasn't that bad. Better than I thought it would be, actually. Granted, there were a few moments that were obviously "This is just for the guys" moments (such as that shower scene...now HONESTLY, how integral was that to the plot?)...but for the most part, it was a cool movie!

I was reading Laura's diary and she reminded me of a movie I rented awhile ago called Return to Me. When it first came out in theaters, I'd wanted to see it because it had David Duchovny in it, but I didn't see it until quite some time after it came out on video. And I'm so glad no one was home when I watched it, because there's this one scene that made me just burst into tears! Those of you who've seen the movie probably know what scene I'm talking about...The movie itself was really good, but for me it was one of those happy-sad situations; I didn't walk away feeling happier than I had when I first sat down to watch it. Yes, it was a happy ending, but it still kinda had a sad undertone to it...I don't know, maybe I'm just too sensitive when it comes to those sorts of things! :oP

That girl on the Gerbil Mailing List is still getting the stuffing beat out of her (figuratively, of course). Even though I agreed with much that was sad about her pet care (or lack thereof), I don't think it should have been drawn out this long! Thankfully it's trickled down to just a couple of people who are arguing back and forth, but even so...just LET IT GO, people! Yeesh! The chaotic part of me was having fun reading all those emails (which is bad, but then again, I just said it was that part of me that likes chaos)...now, however, it's just getting old! No matter what any of us say, that girl is still going to treat her animals in the same fashion as she has been, so it's no use wasting time. If we could physically take the pets away from her, that would be one thing, but just yelling at her isn't going to solve anything!

There is a fly buzzing around my head. I hate bugs.

Back to tonight (hehe)...after the movie was over, Mel and I stopped over at Tiff's house to see if she was home. Her dad answered, but then Tiff came out, squealed when she saw me, and ran over to hug me. Then Mel was like, "Oh, gee, I feel loved!" So Tiff hugged her, too. Hehehe...she was in a really bad mood tonight, though! Since she's a fellow Cancer (the horoscope sign, that is!), I can understand being moody, but it still makes me uncomfortable! Had Mel not been there, I probably would have asked what was wrong, but in the end it might have been better that I didn't ask, because most likely she would have snapped at me! I dunno, I feel bad for her because her family gets on her nerves, and I guess she needs to just get away from them for awhile (which she can't really do because she no longer has a car).

But in better news, Mel and I started talking about our 'road trip' again. She, Tiff, and I were originally talking about going down to Florida for like a week or so, but that was supposed to be in August and I think it's pretty much too late for us to get reservations at a resort like we'd wanted to. So then tonight Mel and I were talking about other places we'd like to go to. I want to go somewhere I've never been before, because it'll make things more exciting and adventure-ish. We talked about going down South, like to New Orleans, but that doesn't really interest me...I'm not much of a Southern person, except when it comes to Virginia (my second-favorite state next to Pennsylvania). And I'm sure Mel wouldn't enjoy going to 'my' neck of the woods in VA, because she'd think it was too boring. Sad, really, because it's so BEAUTIFUL in that area!

We talked about going north-ish, too. I said it would be fun to go to Canada, but I don't know if we'd be able to do that. Do you need a passport to go there? I have one, if it's necessary, but I don't know if Mel or Tiff would get one for themselves! Bleh. Hehehe, Mel said she wanted to go to California, and I agreed, but then we were like, "It's a little too far, though!" And it's definitely not a trip I'd like to make by car...I don't know, maybe it's just that I've grown up on the East Coast, but those midwestern states scare me! No offense to anyone who lives in the Midwest! I just like it here because I'm far enough north and inland that I don't have to worry too much about hurricanes, we don't get earthquakes (well, I don't think the midwest does, either), no tornados (at least, VERY rarely, and I've never seen one)....and our bugs aren't too creepy. *giggles* That's a good argument, eh? We've got our share of really creepy bugs, but thankfully, nothing like scorpions or any of those! Augh, if Mum ever said she wanted to move out there, I would have to let her go on her own...my feet will stay firmly planted on the East Coast, thankyouverymuch! :oP

Not, of course, that I wouldn't mind visiting other states! I'd love to see some of the national parks and other nice, scenic places! But I could never live out there...like I said, probably just because I've grown up here, so I'm familiar with it! Actually, I lived in Chicago once, but I was too young to remember any of it! ^^

One of these days, I'm going to have to call up my old high school and set up an appointment with the guidance counselor...Mum said I had to call in, because she wants to get me into college! *sigh* If we could afford it, I might be more inclined to go, but we have no money!!!! And I'm NOT going to take out loans. Sorry, I just don't feel like spending the rest of my life paying off loans for something that probably won't do me a whole lot of good anyway. I don't even know what I want to do with the rest of my life! Yeah, there's the zoology thing (or something to do with animals), but could I really do that? Am I smart enough? I know that sounds like a stupid question, but I really don't feel like I know enough to do much more than mundane secretarial work! And then there's my aspiration to be an author, but even that desire has waned, because I feel like I just don't have what it takes to become one. I can't even finish a story!!!

Bleh...I'm definitely zapped right now, so I think I'll go to bed. That might be what's bringing on this pessimistic attitude of mine! Anyway, yeah. I'm gone!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!