Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Stuff
Written on June 21, 2001 at 2:25 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Hey, it's officially the start of summer today! Well, I'm pretending it's still the 20th (because I got to my diary a little late, as you can see by the time), so it's NOT the start of summer yet. ;)

Anyway, today was just...odd. I went out with Mum in the morning to get a new cage setup for my baby gerbils. At the first pet store we visited, they had this HUGE rat in the back! I swear, it looked like a hybrid between a rat and a ferret! It was like Monster Rat or something! But at the same time, he (it was most obviously a he) was so cute!!! And I'm not really a rat person, hehe! But he was up at the front of the tank, standing on his hind legs and putting his front paws on the glass, and sniffing around with this inquisitive look like, "Hey, come see me! I'm friendly!" With something that big, I was afraid to even put my hand near it, but I have to confess that it's the FIRST time that I've ever wanted to buy a rat!

And then there were the beautiful two white bunnies that I wanted...one was still really small, with a light gray nose, and the other one was almost fully grown with light gray ears. I really wanted to buy them, but of course I couldn't. :oP I also took a look at the birds, and I never knew how EXPENSIVE they are! Even parakeets are like 70+ dollars! I wanted a cockatoo, actually, because you can teach those to talk and everything, but I know they're up in the $1,000+ range. Bleh. Oh well, bird-keeping will have to wait!

Oo, and I saw this Habitrail hamster cage that I definitely want to get! I have the Habitrail Safari setups (two of them, one for each dwarf hamster), but the new one is a space theme or something...the plastic is clear with silver sparkles. ^^ It's pretty! I thought so, anyway....

The second pet store we went to actually has some gerbils for sale now. They're all black gerbils, though, which is an incredibly boring color. Mine are red foxes, which isn't an exotic gerbil color, exactly, but I think they'd sell better than the black ones! Then again, maybe I just think that way because my first two gerbils were a brown and a black, so I'm used to that color! I asked the lady working there if they sold gerbils as snake food (i.e. If someone came in and wanted a gerbil as snake food, would they sell it), and she said that they tried not to, but that it didn't happen very often anyway. I have 4 babies that I have to sell, and I'm not sure how well I'd do selling them on my own, so I was thinking of giving them to this pet shop since they take good care of their animals. But if they sold my little guys as snake food, I'd feel so guilty! So I'm going to try to sell them on my own...that way, I can be picky about their owners. ^_^

I also got two new fish and found out that the algae eater had been dead for long enough that his body just sort of crumbled (pleasant, eh?). After situating them, I fixed up the new cage, but I haven't moved the babies yet. I'll do that eventually. I just got an email labeled "Great American Sex Diet." That's just wrong.

ANYway, later on Mel called me and asked if I wanted to come over to her house (it was 3 in the afternoon, quite unusual because she usually doesn't call 'til mid-evening!)...I walked over, carrying my Labyrinth video, and Tiff got to see that movie for the first time...dunno if she liked it at all, but she got to see it! *giggles* After the movie, we ordered pizza, brought it back, then ran back out (in a storm) and drove over to Blockbuster's. I won't really go into detail about what happened there, because it's nothing interesting! But then we went to Redner's (local grocery store) for our mandatory movie snacks (though I think it was also partly so Mel could see her current crush. ^^ ).

Normally, once the movies have finished, Mel and Tiff go home (because we almost always watch the rented movies at my house, since Mum doesn't care if we're noisy)...tonight, though, they stayed longer, which was pretty cool! We played several games of Mario World. *giggles* I kicked Mel's ass. ^_~ Well, then again, I've been playing a little while longer than she has, hehe!

Much of the games were spent doing imitations of Steve Irwin, the Crocodile Hunter. Mel likes the show too, and though I don't know if Tiff has seen it before tonight, she joined in on our imitations...my favorite line is "Crikey, he's grumpy!" And we did some variations of it, too, hehe...We're going to start an unofficial fan club. No, not really, but it was funny to think about! ;) I'd join the real one if I had any money...should I have admitted that? People may think I'm more crazy than they already do...

*sigh* I'm beat now, though. I was starting to get tired during the second movie, but then when we started playing the video games I got all wound up. Now that I'm just sitting here again, I feel like going to bed! I think I'll stay up a bit longer, though, and see what Tiff thinks of my Labyrinth fanfics. ^^

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!