Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Hot weather sucks.
Written on June 13, 2001 at 12:35 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Ugh. It has been unpleasantly hot these past two days! In the 90's both days, and considering that I'm more of an Eskimo than a beach bunny, I'd rather the temperature stay at a nice mellow mid-70's range. Anything above 85, and I'm miserable.

Anyway, yesterday Mel and Tiff came over, armed with two rental movies and lots of snacks. The first movie we watched was Dungeons & Dragons...Mel thought that Ridley (or however his name is spelled) was hot. I couldn't stop thinking of him as that funny-looking kid who starred in an old Disney movie (although I forget the name). The movie was pretty good, though. I love fantasy stuff, and I've actually wanted to play the D&D game, but none of us knows how. ^^;

The commercials for the movie were confusing, though, now that I've actually seen the movie. Back when D&D was in theaters, the commercials made it seem as though the characters were actually players who got sucked into the game or something like that. If that was the case, then they didn't show anywhere in the movie that everything was a game. Other than that, though, it was cool. All except for the empress and the bad guy, though. The bad guy's acting just reminded me of a man seriously in need of a padded room and a straight jacket. Well okay, he was a bad guy, and bad guys are usually slightly insane. But still, he bothered me. I think he was getting off on that magic dragon-calling thing he had. The girl who played the empress was just a bad actress, period. I recognized her as the little girl from 'Hocus Pocus' (a Disney movie from ages ago with Bette Midler in it), but I think her acting was better in that movie than this one!

One thing that I find funny (and I know other people have noticed as well) is how in American-made movies, the villains are often British guys. Now, depending on the villain in question, having a British guy play the part is a good idea. For example, if the villain is one of those sophisticated types, then a British accent is perfect for the part! Well, in my opinion, anyway. That could be because I love British and Australian accents. ^^;

But at any rate, the second movie that Mel and Tiff had rented was Crouching Tiger: Hidden Dragon (or however the punctuation goes in it). I'd never had any interest in seeing the movie, but I figured that I could just bring out a notebook and write on one of my many fanfics during it. Things didn't quite turn out that way, though. It was soon discovered that this movie was entirely in Chinese, with American subtitles (is that the right word?) down at the bottom of the screen.

I hate subtitles. Yes, it helps when the movie is spoken in a foreign language, but if I have to spend all my time reading the words at the bottom, then I'm going to miss out on what is happening! So I tend to get distracted very easily during those sorts of movies. Mel, who gets distracted easily anyway, had no interest in watching the rest of the movie, and at first whined to have it shut off. But Tiff was interested in watching it, so Mel and I ended up going to use my computer.

The computer is in my room, which is down the hall from the living room. I felt so bad about leaving Tiff out there by herself, because I feel it's rude to leave guests on their own when you're supposed to be entertaining them. But on the other hand, I get so edgy when people are by themselves in my room, so upon being forced to choose, I just stayed in my room with Mel. I kept walking out to the living room every so often, though.

That was all that happened yesterday, though. Mel and Tiff went home after the second movie was over, and I -- as usual -- went back to my room to go on the Internet. Some good came out of that, however; I finally created my "Berry Patch" site!!!! I'm going to have to ask Janette to make me a little graphic to put over on the lefhand side with all the other links, hehe..but for now, here's a link!

Nothing happened today, other than it being very very hot. Thankfully, we had a thunderstorm around 8 pm, but it's still rather stuffy! When the clouds first started rolling in, and the wind started gusting, I thought that maybe I'd go outside on the porch and watch it storm. I love thunderstorms for some reason, and there's nothing more refreshing than to just sit outside with just the porch roof as protection.

But unfortunately, the wind decided that it wanted to blow hard enough to make the rain come in on the porch, so I had to enjoy the storm from inside the house. *sigh* Oh well, I still had a little fun when I ran out to put the cover on the grill, hehe!

I set my alarm for 8 am so I could participate in a radio contest on the Oldies station (shut up now, all of you). There's a concert coming up in August, and it has all these artists that Mum and I both love. Two of them (Gary Puckett and the Buckinghams) were down in Epcot when we went down in May. Actually, Gary Puckett was the only reason Mum and I went down to Disney World this last time! We've kind of turned into groupies or something, I think...there are several concerts that we want to get tickets for. Anyway, this particular radio contest was giving out tickets for the fourth row...kind of exciting, because of course you'd be right up at the front!

Starting at 8, you had to listen for them to play a song by the Turtles, and then call in. If you were the 21st caller, you got tickets to this concert, and they were fourth row tickets. I don't know very many Turtles songs, so I already knew that I wouldn't get this one. And I didn't. The song came up, and I thought it was a Turtles song, but I wasn't certain enough to actually call in...so some guy named Bob Frost got the tickets instead.

But hey, tomorrow they're giving away tickets for the third row! Guess I'm going to have to set my alarm again, hehe...

I think that's it. I've still got a lot of work to do on my website, and now that I've gotten the hardest part finished (the layout), I'm eager to get the rest of it finished!!!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!