Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: The Venting Ground
Written on Thursday, Feb. 05, 2004 at 12:54 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Blah.

Of course, the buzz is still going in some classes about that whole SuperBowl halftime thing. For myself, I wish the whole lot of talentless losers would be exiled to a place where we'd never have to see or hear from them again. Justin's fame comes from his ability to excite women (it's certainly not from boatloads of talent, because by comparison he might have a canoeful); Nelly...well, Nelly has always sucked, but he gets half-naked women to do strip club-esque dances around him, so of course that makes him popular; Kid Rock is sort of the same way, but whatever, I don't hardly ever hear about him anymore so he's not worth worrying about. Janet Jackson was okay back in...oh, the 80's or whenever it was she first made it big, but now she's just a middle-aged woman flashing her titties to the world.

Sorry for the vulgarities, heh. And I know some of the people who read this actually like those aforementioned celebrities, but ah well. We all have our own venting ground, and this just happens to be mine.

I'm tired of the blatant sexuality that's everywhere in the media. It's not that I'm against using it at all, but there are more subtle ways to do so. As we're learning in one of my Comm classes, something as simple as airbrushing a person's eyes to make them look slightly dilated is effective...but more subconsciously. I'm tired of this Instant Erection Age, where the sexuality is displayed in such a primeval way. Maybe it's because I enjoy subtleties and nuances, having to actually think about things instead of getting things fed to me. Rappers and their booty-shaking women just disgust me. And yes, the same goes for half-naked men dancing around. People always think I'm weird when I say I have no interest in going to strip clubs. Why do I want to see that? I'd rather imagine what's underneath the clothes than actually see it (because invariably, what I imagine is better than the real thing anyway).

So yeah, I'm just tired of it all. I'm tired of MTV, I'm tired of having all this stuff (which really isn't even sexy anymore) thrust in my face...I just want it all to go away. I'm not suggesting we go back to 50's values, where you couldn't even say the word 'sex' without people gasping in shock, but I think things can be toned down. And if that makes me a prude, then I'll happily wear a shirt that says "I'm a Prude and Proud of it!"

And that's my rant, which does not necessarily reflect the views of Diaryland or its users. :P

In weather-related rantings, the last time I checked the weather forecast, we were supposed to get another 2-4 inches of snow or ice or something. I'd rather have the snow, thanks. The university does a craptastic job of plowing and salting as it is; I can't even imagine what'd happen if 2-4 inches of ice accumulated on the sidewalks! It would make me cry. And probably also convince me not to even leave this building. Not that I can really afford to skip any more classes, hehe...

Alright, I have to stop being lazy and pull my printer out of its dusty confines in my closet. I don't feel like walking all the way down to the library to use their ink and paper, so I'm going to have to just use mine. If I had more space in my room, I'd have the printer out permanently. But hey, that'll happen next year! ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!