Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: She signs no contract
Written on Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2003 at 12:55 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

The lovely folks at Gateway called today and left a message saying that they'd found my laptop and are going to ship it overnight...so it should be here on Thursday. I don't know if they're shipping it straight to the house, as they'd told me they would before this stupid mess happened, or if it's going back to the Gateway store (which would obviously mean that I'd have to go pick it up). Part of me would rather them just send it to the store, because who knows what'll happen if they try shipping it here again. It could end up in Canada!

They ought to give me a peace offering, like...a digital camera. Considering they almost permanently lost a $1-$2,000 laptop, I don't think a few hundred dollars is too much to ask, do you? Actually, I guess I'll be happy enough just to get it back, though I wouldn't mind if they did a little boot-licking in the process. Stupid people, 'losing' computers. Maybe I'll just 'lose' the bills they send, too...

Mom and I went out and did the rest of my college shopping. Well, I still need clothes, but at least the essential stuff is taken care of now. I tried to convince her to let me drive over to Target, but she was like, "No, I don't want you driving there."

"How am I supposed to get practice driving on the highway if you won't let me do it?" I asked in irritation.

"There's too much traffic."

"There's always traffic."

"No, I mean it's rush hour!"

Blah blah blah. I was about to sweetly say, "Okay, you just keep making excuses, then" when she told me that she'd let me drive on the way back. As it turns out, the roads weren't even busy when we drove over to the mall area, so I could have driven! >_< Urgh. I know she's only worried about me, but she keeps saying she wants me to be independent, and then in the next breath she's telling me I can't do certain things because she doesn't want anything to happen to me!

And yes, I'm glad that she cares and I love her to pieces because she's not one of those mothers who'll just let her kid do whatever. It's just that she needs to start letting me go on my own, you know? Actually, it's well PAST that time, LOL! I guess I can't really understand how her mind works, though, since I'm not a mother. Everyone says that once you're a mother, things change. But I don't really intend on finding that out, so I guess I'll just have to rely on my imagination instead.

My new love happens to be the "Clean Breeze" scents offered by Tide and Downy. :P Mom had bought a bottle of the Tide stuff about a week or two ago, not realizing that she'd bought this variety instead of the kind she usually gets. However, it was a mistake I'm glad she made. Hehe...Anyway, I had to buy laundry detergent today to take back to college, so I got the whole line. Ironically--and I found this out AFTER I decided I liked this scent--Geoff and Tim use the Clean Breeze Downy, hehe...So maybe it was a subconscious thing that made me like this stuff. At any rate, now my clothes are going to smell like theirs...though I'm the only one who'll notice it. :P

There are so many fun things to buy at Target that I wish I had more money! As it is, Mom paid for half with her credit card and then I paid for half with one of mine...and ended up putting around $70-some dollars on it. *cringes* Normally, I wouldn't bat an eye at such a sum...but 'normally' is defined as 'having a job'. I'm going to have to take up on Kristen's offer of aid in finding an on-campus job this year. And during vacations, I am grabbing the first available job that I see. It's only a few weeks/few months at a time, so barring something like sewage work (which I wouldn't do even if I was dirt poor...haha, get it?), I need to just suck it up and deal. At least it's money. And money is good. I was about to add 'no matter how you get it,' but I have no intentions of selling my body for medical experiments or anything torturous like that.

Hee hee hee..."The mill's closed. There's no more work, we're destitute. I've got no option but to sell you all for scientific experiments."

Monty Python's "The Meaning of Life" is the best movie. I know I'm probably the only one of that opinion (heck, from what I remember reading, even John Cleese didn't like that one!), but that's okay. I just love how it pokes fun at...well, everyone. :P Yeah, it's kinda gloomy and pessimistic in a way, but I think it's what actually turned me into such a Python fan. And that's all that matters, of course.

Anyway, now that I've finished with that little side note...!

I bought a spifty new paper diary from Barnes and Noble (since the one Kevin bought me for Christmas will soon be finished), and then Mom actually let me drive home. Granted, the highway wasn't busy or anything like that, but I still had no problems getting from the mall to home. The only real tricky parts (and this is going to seem SO obvious) are coming off the ramps onto the highway. I need more practice with the merging thing, hehe...Still, it's not THAT hard.

And if you never hear from me again, it's because I drove out one day with a Sarah Williams "This is a piece of cake!" complex and got in a horrible accident. Hehehe...

Tomorrow (well, technically today) is the concert, WOO HOO! I can't wait. Geoff was already singing 'Aqualung' over the phone tonight, suggesting that we do karaoke again. *laughs* My voice sounds...not little girl-ish, but definitely a little too sweet to be singing songs like 'Aqualung' or 'Cross-eyed Mary'! Geoff and I agreed that that would make karaoke-singing all the funnier, though. I'd have to go up with a Julie-Andrews-as-Mary-Poppins sort of smile and sing it, I think.

At any rate, now I'm waiting for my laundry to dry (I forgot about it until about 11 o'clock or so, when Mom reminded me). But I have other things to do as well so I suppose I should do them. :P Geoff's picking me up sometime before noon, and he told me to go to bed "tonight, as opposed to tomorrow"...but like I ever listen to anyone's advice!

See y'all on Thursday! :)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!