Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: You can make it!
Written on Friday, Jun. 27, 2003 at 12:59 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Despite Tiff's offer to teach me to sew, I'm seriously contemplating buying a video or two from this website. Of course, I'd still like to have Tiff help me, because I'm one of those hands-on sorts of people (no comments!) and learn such things better if I can see it done and actually practice it. But I found this website (youcanmakeit.com) and it seems like a pretty good place to start! They've got 7 different levels, and you make something in each level. Actually, you can either buy the videos or fill out a form so that the people at this site can direct you to a nearby teacher. But first off, I can't imagine they'd be able to find anyone THAT near me...and even if they did, I realized that with college and all it would probably be pretty hard to have a set teaching schedule. So while it would probably be better to have a teacher, the videos would be more convenient.

And hey, Tiff, maybe if I got them, you could use them to brush up on things. ;)

If anyone's ever actually seen/used these videos before, could you give a review of them in my guestbook? *smiles entreatingly* I looked around on the Internet for some and found all good reviews, but I wouldn't mind a few more, hehe...

This past year, I've been so interested in craft-related stuff that it's almost scary. I've embroidered ever since I was in 5th or 6th grade (though I'm still not all THAT great at it), but in high school I was never interested in taking the classes that taught you how to make clothing and such. Yeah, I definitely regret not taking them! Home Ec classes really DO seem to be a rarity anymore, which is kind of a shame, really. Hehehe...I remember in 7th and 8th grade where we spent half our semester learning to cook, and the other half sewing. It was especially funny to see the guys trying to tackle the jobs (though in the case of 8th grade cooking, it was also rather disgusting).

I've been thinking today about how packed my fall semester is going to be. 5 classes (one of them the dreaded Math course), more responsibilities at WCUC because I'm on Exec Board, an endless number of things I have to do to get NBS started up again, TV crew time (because I'm planning to join that), studying time, Rec Center time, a possible job (I think I might email Dr. Donato and ask if I can work in the Language Lab)...Oh yeah, and then of course I have to fit in time for eating and sleeping. ;) When I first started college, I never ever expected to get myself so involved in things! Thank goodness I had the presence of mind to get out of the sorority, or else I'd never have time for all this! I'm bound and determined that I'll go to that Rec Center every night (or as close to it as possible).

Amanda! You're going to have to help me with that goal! ;) As well as keep me on track with studying for Math, hehehe...

The thing I'm looking forward to most, oddly enough, is NBS. There are so many different projects and ideas to do! Biggest on the list right now is getting members, but I want to dive into fundraising, and see about starting up that "Whose Line"-esque show that I'd come up with last year...The only real impediment is Misty, the "president". I'm hoping against hope that she'll email somebody and tell them that she's resigning. It's not that I particularly want to be president just yet, but I WOULD like to have someone with whom I can work and communicate! Misty never even responded to that email I sent her last semester! Sorry, but that's not exactly a good qualification for a president.

I'm tired of everything in that department being second rate. It's time to get NBS back on track, and it's time to get some SHOWS on TV-5 so people start watching again! Even if I have to play every single character, we're going to have something! You just watch me. I'm going to be a working fiend this year. *rubs hands together gleefully*

In other news, I was right in thinking that the new Harry Potter book would start up RPing interest again! Yay for more people! Maybe my characters will actually have someone to interact with now, lol!

The next time Geoff says "Call you back later?" I need to remember to laugh and respond, "Sooo, I'll hear from ya in a week or so then?" Hehehe...Mom saw (again) that I was bored and offered to go pick Tiff up and drive her over here if I called her up. I pointed out that she (Mom) was going to bed early tonight, since she has to get up at 3 am, so there was the end to that. Instead, she called up Geoff and handed the phone over to me. XP I know it sounds strange for her to do that, but in a way it's kind of cute, too. I've been getting frustrated more and more lately, feeling like she doesn't understand me and isn't really listening to me anymore, but then she goes and does stuff like this because she doesn't want to see me bored but doesn't know what she can do (other than call Geoff, hehe).

I forget what exactly Geoff and I were talking about, but he randomly asked what today's date was. After asking Mom and finding out that it was the 26th, Geoff chuckled and said, "I'll get you a card."

"What?"

"I'll get you a birthday card."

He couldn't believe that it was already so close to the 30th...I think he still thought it was closer to the 20th, hehe! Actually, to tell the truth, it didn't really register to me until this moment that the 30th was so close. Time can stop going by so fast now; I've reached a nice age. :P It's all downhill from here, ha ha ha...

At any rate, it was cute that he actually remembered. He said he's notoriously belated with these sorts of things, but I already figured that out judging by his memory regarding other things. ;) He remembered me, though! *grins*

We didn't talk for more than 2 or 3 minutes, though, because his friend had just rung the doorbell and Geoff had...erm...just come out of the shower. *smiles beatifically*

And now my dearest of Jams is online, so I'm going to go converse with her. ^_^ Give a damn about your jam!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!