Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: My petstore resum� :P
Written on Tuesday, Jul. 09, 2002 at 6:59 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

"So. When're you picking me up tomorrow?"

"Four o'clock!" Geoff immediately replied.

"Okay then, see you at four!"

Yes, this did happen. But before you get your hearts all into a flutter (like that'd happen)...we were both joking. In other words, he's off tomorrow and he's not actually going to come to the store at four o'clock to get me. Le sigh.

Karen came in this morning and said she had something for me out in her car, but she didn't want to bring it in because she wasn't sure if I was working. Curious, I walked out to the parking lot with her, and she handed me a large, very pretty pink flowery gift bag. "You probably already know what it is," she told me, as we started walking back, but I confessed that I had no clue.

When I opened the bag, I pushed away the tissue paper to find the popcorn popper that I'd been eyeing at Target a few days ago! *giggles* I'd told her the story about how Tiff and I had gone out shopping, and I'd seen the popper but didn't want to buy it just then because I wasn't sure if I could afford it (with everything else I'd bought). So she actually remembered that and bought it for me! After that, I couldn't be angry with her anymore.

Zenon was back to his usual zaniness, and so he and I were flirting harmlessly with each other all day. At one point, he was bending over to pick up something, and I actually went up behind him and pinched his bum! Not something I'd normally do, but I just feel comfortable around Zenon, hehe...he's just a guy pal around whom I can say or do practically anything, and not feel totally self-conscious.

Geoff and I had planned on taking our lunch break at 11:30, but stuff happened, and his plans were delayed. When I was talking to him on his store phone, he finally said, "Maybe we should just skip it today...Tuesdays are really busy."

"Aww, I don't wanna skip it and not have lunch with you!" I protested, to which he replied with what sounded like a sincere, "Aww!" I told him that I'd just take my short break first, and then later we could go on lunch (though privately, I feared he'd tell me later that he was just too busy to go).

We went on lunch a little after 2. ^_^ Funny how we started out sharing our shorter break, but now we've gone to going on lunch together...maybe before long, he'll actually invite me out somewhere! Ha ha! Okay, I know that's probably not gonna happen. ;)

On my way out the door this afternoon, I happened to glance over at the carousel thingy that's in the lobby. Non-profit organizations are allowed to leave pamphlets and other things on this carousel, and today the pamphlet that just happened to catch my eye read "BED WETTING". Well, actually there was a stop sign right before that, so it would actually be "Stop bed wetting", but the latter two words were in great big bold print. I cracked up; this was exactly the sort of thing that would get Geoff laughing.

"Ohh, can you drive over to Geoff's car so I can stick this on his windshield?" I pleaded with Mom. She agreed, so I plucked up one of the sheets and headed out the door, giggling like a madwoman. I'd wanted to write something clever beneath it, but all I ended up scribbling was "Have a nice day off!" I would've loved to have been there to see his face.

Nicole came in today with her daughter, and I just stood there seething with jealousy when I saw her. The woman is in her thirties, but she's absolutely GORGEOUS. Not in an overly made-up sort of way--she's actually very natural. But she's very slender, with tanned skin and short black hair, and today she was wearing a spaghetti strap sort of top, and jean shorts. I don't care that's she's had two kids. I would LOVE to have that figure. I teased her on the night of my birthday party, telling her to get her 'perfect feet' out of my way, but she always gets irritated when people tell her she's so pretty. I know it's not right to be jealous of people, but I haven't let it stop me from liking her, hehe...She called me her adopted daughter, and I love her to pieces, so I can get over the fact that she looks like a model. :oP

Mom keeps telling me that she needs to get a resum� filled out (she's applying for a manager position at the store, and apparently she needs a resum�)...but every time I get on the computer, she's never home! Today, I booted up my desktop right away so that I could get the thing over with before she went out to dinner with Toad. But she left, saying we could do it when she got back. I want to go to bed in the very near future, so by the time she DOES get home, I'll probably be sleeping! So she's gonna have to let that amphibian wait a little while if she really wants this job.

I halfway wish I was either a)Sixteen again, or b)Not working where I am, because I'd love to work at Petco. When I was younger and not of hiring age, I used to dream of being able to work at a petstore. And I've heard lots of things about Petco, with people saying that they're really cruel to animals or whatnot, but I think that's primarily a "depends on what store you go to" sort of thing. I mean, if you've got a store whose employees are all unfamiliar with animals, then yeah, conditions aren't going to be that great. But if you've got employees who at least care about all the animals, then things aren't usually so bad, you know? And even a basic knowledge of the animals you're dealing with is better than none at all. I'm not an expert on critters by any means, but if you were to ask me whether cichlids would get along well with other fish, I could tell you fairly certainly that no, they're not community fish and deal better with other cichlids (nearer their own size). If I'm not completely correct, it's not THAT bad because at least I've prevented a customer from putting cichlids and tetra together, or something like that.

It's not the company itself that's bad...well okay, TECHNICALLY it is, because they should have stricter hiring laws, but it's primarily the employees that make a store good or bad. I like to think that I'd be able to contribute to a good store, especially in the fuzzy critter department, because I would try as hard as possible NOT to sell small animals to anyone until they've done their research and know what they're in for. Granted, you're probably not allowed to discourage sales like that, but I could always push for them to get all the housing stuff first, then come back later for the critter! You're supposed to do that anyway. Less stress for the animal.

I sound like I'm posting MY resum� or something, hehehe! I don't know how I get off on these tangents. I just start thinking about one thing, and then it branches off into something else!

Anyway, I'm going to go now. Maybe I'll start playing Aidyn Chronicles again (though I can't get past the blasted Chaos Minions, which makes getting certain skills impossible)...or maybe I'll continue looking for my PSP6 CD (because I think I know where it is now). Part of me wants to just go out and buy PSP7, but at the same time I don't want to spend all that money! Sigh.

Wouldn't it just be great if Geoff really DID show up at work tomorrow? *giggles and traipses off*

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!