Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Forever Afternoon (Thursday?)
Written on Thursday, Jun. 20, 2002 at 6:59 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

George Bush has decided to crack down on fat people.

Yes, that's right. He doesn't have enough to occupy his day, and so he's decided that he'd like to try his hand at helping others lose weight. I would've loved to have been around when he came up with THAT brilliant plan...

"Hmm...Y'know, fighting with Osama is fun and all, and I'm really liking this whole 'Let's kick EVERYONE'S ass' sort of thing, but I don't know. I should be doin' stuff for people here in the US, too, right?"

"Yes, Mr. President."

"So what can I do? What do people want most?" *light bulb* "OH! I KNOW!!! I'll make a weight-loss program! Didn't the news people say there were a lot of fat people in the country?"

"Uh...I believe so, Mr. President, but I wouldn't put it in those terms..."

"This is great! My slogan: 'Be Like Bush! Tone That Tush!' This'll be great! Let everybody know immediately!"

Okay, so maybe it wasn't quite like that. I'm waiting to see if he'll actually tell us his reasons himself. (And yes, for any of the particularly dense-minded folk out there--my darling loyal readers excluded--I know that diary's not for real. Really pathetic I even had to say that, eh? But you all know how people are these days.)

Anyway, in Berry news...Well, there really isn't much. But when is there anything worthwhile happening in my life? I brought in my strawberry cake, which I think everyone liked (Adam, in Produce, was quite taken with it)...Had my break, as usual, with Geoff...Right before I left, I cut a big piece of it, put a little tag on the plate, and told Geoff that there was a piece of cake in the bakery cooler for him. I wonder if he'll remember to get it. :oP Waitta minute, it's food, and he's a guy; of course he'll remember.

My birthday is turning into a sleepover, of sorts. Kirsten and Keith will be staying overnight, and Mom informed Geoff that he would be, too. The only reason we're doing it this way is because neither of us want them driving after they've been drinking, but I don't know that Geoff will actually concede to sleeping in a strange house (and no, not with me!). Nonetheless, this should be a very fun party! Even though Mom invited Linda and Susan (who is Linda's daughter).

Mom doesn't seem to understand why I don't like Susan. And other than the fact that she's a tad on the vacuous side...I just feel inadequate around her. Not in the brains department, ha ha (*teasing grin*), but basically everywhere else. She's about the same age as me (maybe a year younger), which immediately puts her in the warning zone...because as I've said, I feel very uneasy around people my own age. She's also slender, blonde, and extremely outgoing, all of which make me feel even worse. The only things that make me feel better are that a)As I just said, she's rather vacuous, and b)She likes to party a little too much (as in, with alcohol). As I don't look fondly upon such an overindulgence, I feel marginally better for being 'clean', hehe...

Not that I expect anyone to understand my feelings regarding all that, but on a night when I want to feel as sparkly and special as possible, why on earth would I want her there to make me feel less than adequate? Mom, of course, got irritated when I said that I didn't want Susan there, but then in an attempt to try to change the subject, she said, "Linda's taking Susan to Atlantic City for her 21st birthday."

"I'll bet they won't be inviting anyone they don't like," I retorted uncharacteristically. Usually, when I get as irritated as I was that night, I just grunt disinterestedly in reply, but I wanted her to know that I didn't appreciate the unwelcome invitation. If it was any other sort of gathering, then fine. I can just hole myself up in my room until she goes away. But as selfish as it sounds, this is like the one day a year that I can actually feel special, and shouldn't the people invited be people that I like?

*shrugs* Guess not.

At any rate, I am in a fairly okay mood, I'm just tired. So I'm going to go now and find other pursuits to occupy myself until a decent bedtime hour rolls in.

By the by, Dhiammara is a rather morbid and depressing book, which I don't think I fully realized the last time I read it. In order to establish the extent of one of the character's evilness, the author makes her kill a guy...then bring him back to life...then, discovering that she can now control his movements, makes him slaughter the rest of his family (two of them being very young children). Just a few chapters later, Evil Magewoman is traveling in the Southlands, where she kills two more innocent characters. Such things just don't sit right with me. And sure, she's evil, so of course she's not going to have a conscience, but...I dunno, I think it was the two little kids who really made me upset. I know it's just a fictional book, but that's just WRONG! :oP I can't express myself well enough to keep me from sounding stupid, but yeah, that's what I think about that book.

Oh yeah, and the description for this entry is derived from The Moody Blues song "Forever Afternoon (Tuesday?)". :oP

And now I'm going.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!