Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: The art of packing
Written on March 11, 2002 at 6:48 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I wish I'd given more thought to my packing when I moved, instead of just throwing things into boxes and thinking, "Oh, as long as I have it it'll be alright!"

No, it's NOT alright, Berry! For goodness' sake, you don't even know where anything is now! I could've been smart and at least packed corresponding things in the same boxes...For example, all of my digital camera stuff? I could have put it into the same box, but I think I packed the electrical cord thinger into one box, the computer cable into another one, and the camera in yet ANOTHER one! I should check this box that I've abandoned underneath my computer desk..that could very possibly have the item I'm looking for (which would be the power cord to said digicam).

I spent quite some time last night trying to find my little yellow portable desk so that I could have a writing surface in my room (my computer desk is big enough to fit computer and printer, with little room left over for anything else)...searched through all the boxes in Mom's walk-in closet, and while I found all my notebooks--which pleased me immensely--I found no sign of my yellow plastic desk.

Where did it turn up, you might ask? In one of the boxes in my room. >_< The worst part of it all was that if I'd just LOOKED over at the boxes, I would have seen part of the desk peeking through the handle in the side of the box! But at least I have it now. As I was filling out my college application, I decided I wanted to find my 10th grade yearbook. So I pulled down what FELT like a 5-ton plastic tub from the shelf inside Mom's closet, and there was my yearbook on the bottom. At least I'd had an idea of where that item would be, unlike my yellow desk...

I love looking in that yearbook. It's from that one lovely year I spent in Massachusetts, so it brings back good memories. Some bad as well, though, because shortly after the seniors graduated that year, there was a thing on the news talking about how a boy was killed in a car accident. I never met this boy, since I'd only been there a year, but I looked in my yearbook and remembered seeing him before. So every time I see his picture, it's a little sad.

My room looks all cluttered again because of the new stuff I found. I desperately need to invest in a small dresser so I can get rid of some of these things! And a bedside table...I saw one at Target that would've been perfect, but it has drawers in it...which would be VERY nice, except for the fact that I have such a narrow space between my bed and the wall that I'd never be able to open said drawers! *sighs* Maybe I'll get it anyway and just stuff the things I never use in there. Even if I use them very rarely, I'd only have to move the thing once in awhile!

For now, though, I think I'm going to go search for that power cord to my digital camera. I've been itching to take pictures of things, but the batteries went dead so I haven't been able to! :(

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!