Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Moved in, and sick
Written on February 08, 2002 at 8:01 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Finally got everything moved in last night, and so last night was my first night sleeping in this apartment. Mom said she was going to call off work for today, so that she could finish getting those last little things, but I told her that I still wanted to go to work. After all, it was the day of that sexual harassment class, and I was looking forward to joking about it with Geoff! ;)

We both got off work early yesterday (because two of Mom's coworkers in Produce told her that she was leaving so she could finish everything), and we moved stuff from around 2 o'clock 'til midnight. But I'll get back to that. I feel like talking about my day first, hehe...

As I was standing by the clock to punch in, Dave (store manager) and Geoff walked out of the adjoining room (the "manager's office"). My back was to them, but I could hear their voices. Anyhoo, Dave was like, "Good morning, Amber!" Geoff was right behind Dave, but said absolutely nothing. Maybe he just didn't hear the greeting, I dunno. Whatever the reason, however, I was a little irritated! He'd just been talking all cheerily to me the day before, and now he was ignoring me?

I'm thinking now that he just didn't hear Dave's greeting. When 11 o'clock came around, I grabbed my soda and went to the break room...As I was entering the back room, I saw Geoff over by the baler...he saw me and waved, and all I did was wave back. On any other day, I would've said something like, "Break time!" (or some other such phrase that would invite him to join me.) But this time I decided that I'd just let him SEE me walk into the break room...and if he wanted to join me, it would be his own decision to do so. :oP

About 6 or 7 minutes later (the time it would take him to finish what he'd been doing, then get coffee), he was walking into the break room. ^_^ As he walked past me, he slapped the newspaper I'd been reading, then took a seat across from me. I'm constantly amazed at how much we have in common, hehe!

But anyway, I think I stayed back there for over 20 minutes, and when I finally got up, he got up and left with me. As we were walking out of the back room, Leroy saw us and exclaimed, "Look! There goes Amber and Geoff! Where are you two going?"

Geoff turned and grinned at him, and I called back, "You don't want to know!"

I'd been figuring that maybe I could spend my lunch break with Geoff as well, but Mom and I left around 1:30. I wandered back to the frozen section and said bye, and he replied with, "Where are you going?" So I told him what was going on, blah blah. Then I said, "So I'll see you tomorrow, and we can sexually harass each other." :oP

As I started to walk away, he spoke up again. "Thought you had to stay 'til 8 tonight?" he teased, a very impish look on his face. I laughed and replied, "Guess I lucked out!"

So then Mom and I began all the moving, blah blah...sometime during mid-evening, my stomach started to get upset. I figured maybe it was a combination of not eating for several hours, running up and down steps while lugging very heavy boxes (I think I lost a few pounds, hehe), and doing all that in the cold. Sometimes my stomach gets upset like that, but it usually goes away. This stomach ache did not. It progressed to the point where I felt like I was going to upchuck at any moment...but then the feeling would go away for a little bit, and so I'd convinced myself that it wasn't anything serious.

By the time we'd settled ourselves in the apartment, my face was really flushed and my skin was feverish. My stomach didn't hurt as bad--maybe because I was so tired--but I was starting to get that really chilly feeling that only comes with fevers. Why is that, I wonder? Fevers make your body temperature higher than normal, yet by turns you start feeling really really cold?

Around 4 o'clock this morning, my stomach got so upset that I headed straight for the bathroom. Sat in there for probably 10 minutes until everything settled, but of course as soon as I stood up I felt sick again. Went back to my room and sat on my bed, though, and then I felt a little better. I sat like that for the next hour, because as soon as I reclined at all I'd get sick again! Finally called the store and told Cheryl (the temporary morning baker) that I'd try to make it in for that mandatory class, but I wasn't guaranteeing anything. Then I arranged my pillows against the headboard and dozed off.

Some time after 9 am, I rushed to the bathroom and finally got some measure of relief. It's not the most interesting thing in the world to see your lunch from the day before brought back up. *giggles* I know, I know, TMI...

Felt so much better after that that I wanted to get ready and go to that class! But I didn't get to, because Mom wouldn't let me (rightly so, of course)...

You can't imagine how upset I was. It's stupid, I know, but I'd really wanted to be able to go to that class! Of course, it was only so that I'd see Geoff, but I imagined us sitting next to each other and making jokes about some of the stuff that the "teacher" said. I feel absurdly cheated...And yet this seems to be the story of my life! Something always happens to me right before the day that I'm really looking forward to.

I slept all day, and then I was so desperate to talk to my friends (the only comfort I have at this point, as I feel really alienated in this house) that I set up my computer. That was interesting, lugging the heavy monitor in here...

On Wednesday, Frank came up as promised...and I have to say that I wish he hadn't. I was so wound up with all this moving stuff, and then as we were driving around I kept forgetting to tell him things like, "Alright, turn right up there," and "get into the left lane"...I know he got really irritated with me. The only real work he got to do was helping me take apart the computer! It was funny, though...I started to take the monitor and he said, "Don't pick that up! I'll do it!"

"But it's all dusty!" I complained (to which he said he didn't care). As he came back into the room, I said, "I can do it! I set the darned thing up!" But he refused to let me lift it. :oP

Anyway, I think that's about it for now. I'm thinking about signing off, since Laura left and Tiff isn't at her computer...My stomach's starting to growl, but at the same time I know that if I eat anything, it'll come right back up later on. And it's been SO nice not having those terrible stomach pains...

Maybe I'll get some 7 Up instead. Heh, how ironic...When was it that I took the "Which Carbonated Beverage Are You?" quiz..?

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!