Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: A lovely evening
Written on January 17, 2002 at 10:01 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Dragged myself out of bed around noon today, figuring that since Geoff hadn't called I didn't have any reason to rush around. I'd thought that his meeting was from 12 to 4, so I figured that I wouldn't hear from him 'til sometime after that. I knew I would hear from him, I just didn't figure I would until much later.

So I'd just finished washing my hair and was sitting in front of the television when the phone rang. We don't get many calls at all around here, so I walked over to the Caller ID to see who it was. And it was Geoff! This all happened around 1:30. Turns out, his meeting had been from 8 to 12, but it had run half an hour late.

ANYway, he said he had to get a shower and clean out the back of his car a little, but then he'd be up. He was bringing the roommate (whose name is Tim), but by that point I wasn't all upset about it as I'd been last night. Told me he'd probably be on the road by 2, but neither of us knew how long it'd take him to get here.

Had he not gotten lost (something I knew would happen 'cause I'm out in the middle of nowhere), he probably would've been here around 2:30 or 3. But as it happened, he didn't get here probably 'til closer to 4. But let me rewind a bit.

The doorbell rang (this was a little after 2), and of course I immediately got all shaky. Tromped down the stairs and opened the door...and it was Mom!

"Mom, what are you doing here?" I greeted in surprise (aren't I nice?). Then I told her about how Geoff was coming over, and I said something about how he was probably going to be like, "Okay, and I came here why...?" now that he saw her there. That didn't mean I wanted her gone at all, though! But she called up a friend and drove over there! Yeah, I felt bad, especially since she'd just gotten finished with a 4-hour drive!

As it so happened, she came back an hour or so later and Geoff still wasn't there. So I'd just begun to talk to her...when the doorbell rang. This time, it was Geoff.

Invited him in while I put Hamlet and Percy (two of my gerbils) into a little plastic traveler thing. Mom had already jumped into packing...throwing most of the stuff out, but keeping some things. Let's just say that by the time Geoff and I left the house, he had a trash bag full of stuff that she'd foisted off on him. I was so embarrassed, LoL! There was no reason for me to be, but it was just weird...he ended up with everything from this little plastic McDonald's toy to a bundt cake pan.

I felt a little weird that Tim hadn't come up to the door as well, because the introductions would've been better that way than with me walking out to the car. I dunno, maybe I'm weird. But he had back surgery awhile ago (it's healing now, but he's still kinda funny), and he probably felt awkward going up to the door, so he waited out there. Mom got on Geoff's case, saying something like, "Why did you bring him if he just had back surgery?!" But apparently the surgery had been just long enough ago that he could get around and such...and he hardly ever gets out of the house except to work (gee, that sounds familiar), so Geoff toted him along.

Tim turned out to be really nice, though. I think he's kind of shy as well, because while he would pipe up every so often to either ask me stuff (he asked what color my rabbits are, hehe) or tease me about something (like my vague directions, LoL), he was mostly very quiet. I felt comfortable around him, though, which was the most important thing.

As we left the house, Geoff handed me this heavy binder with CDs in it and told me to pick one. "I know which one you're going to pick," he joked, and sure enough, I found 2 Queen CDs. But he also had a BUNCH of Beatles' CDs, Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, The Moody Blues, The Rolling Stones...Now granted, I don't actually like any of those bands except the Beatles and Moody Blues, but still, all this classic rock! LOL! And he was listening to a classic rock station that I like listening to sometimes...at least I know I wouldn't really have a problem with music if I ever actually got to date him! ^_^

Walking out of the car to the pet store, Geoff tried to dare me to walk into the hair salon (which was next door) and ask them to shave my gerbils. I very emphatically said no, hehe...But Percy and Hamlet are on their way to becoming somebody's pet now...I felt a little bit sad as we left, looking at the empty plastic cage!

Then we drove out to this town which is actually only about 20 minutes or so from where I live, for no apparent purpose other than that we could. Drove past the place where Mel, Tiff, and I played mini-golf once, and kept on going down the road...then we came to this little shopping center with a restaurant called Zia Maria's (or something like that). If you couldn't tell, it was an Italian place, hehe...I'd never been there before (obviously), and neither had the other two, but we agreed to go eat there.

However, I felt REALLY bad because I'd left my purse (and all my money) at home! Geoff laughed and joked that my "forgetting" had actually been a pre-meditated act, but seriously! I had had my purse lying on the couch with my fleece jacket, and I was so caught up in everything else that I forgot it!! Even after I'd picked up my jacket! He teased me at first, saying that I couldn't get anything since I had no money, but then he was like, "I'm just kidding, get whatever you want!"

Being the boring and unadventurous girl that I am, I got an "Italian Calzone" (ham and cheese, basically). Got the "small" one, and it ended up being HUGE! Geoff shared a little bit of it at the end. ^_^

Dinner was really nice, though. As if being awkward about everything ELSE isn't enough of a problem, I also have this thing about eating in front of people. I don't care with Mom, for obvious reasons, but with most other people, I get all nervous and don't want to eat. I'm getting better with it, because at work I force myself to buy stuff and eat even if I know other people will be in the break room, but I'm still a little weird. So right at first I was a little nervous to eat in front of them, but I mean, come on--they're guys. Like they care.

Dessert didn't interest me, both because of that huge calzone (half of which is now sitting in my refrigerator) and because none of the desserts sounded all that appetizing. Geoff and Tim both got the same thing, and Geoff tried to get me to have some of his, but I was definitely not interested.

Got to listen to the first half of "Night at the Opera" before having to change CDs, hehe...but by the time "This is the Moody Blues" was put into the CD player, we were close to my house. I was hoping we could've stayed out longer, but I think Tim's back was starting to hurt him. :oP Thus, we went back to my house. The next part was funny (to me, anyway).

They both get out of the car, and Geoff starts exclaiming over the fact that you can actually see the stars. There are NO street lights where I live, not enough houses to create a lot of artificial light, so the stars stand out clear and beautiful in the sky. But I guess I've always taken for granted the fact that I have no problem seeing them, so I really got a kick out of the way Geoff was staring almost in awe at the sky. He explained to me how where he lives, there are so many artificial lights and stuff that you can't see the stars at all. Wouldn't that be sad? I can't imagine not being able to see the stars at night.

Anyway, after how chivalrous (hehe) the two of them were being all night (I'm not used to having doors opened for me, or people letting me order first), I was hoping maybe I'd get walked to the door. ;) But no, it wasn't really a date, after all! So I rushed around to the driver's side and said, "Wait a minute, get over here!" and opened my arms for a hug. Bwe he he...

I keep making him sound like this creep when I write my depressed entries, but he really isn't! Awkward and confusing, most definitely! But he's really a very nice guy. Even mom just said so, and she's NEVER been so accepting of anyone that I like, LoL!

Then she had to go and say "I just hope he never finds your diary!" which has me all paranoid again. Geoff, if you ever find this...well, you'll KNOW I like you at least, hee hee! Ugh, I'd be so embarrassed if he did... :oP

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!