Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Popsicles and Icicles
Written on January 11, 2002 at 6:45 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

"What time do you start work tomorrow?" I did inquire of Geoff.

"Eight o'clock," was his reply.

"Okay. I'm going on lunch tomorrow. You're coming with me."

"Okay," he laughed.

So we'll just see if that happens or not. ;) I've decided that I'm not going to be polite and ask anymore; I'm going to drag him forcibly everywhere I want him to go. LoL! Okay, not really. I never would have been so direct had the day not gone so well. But I'm not writing any of that here because if I do, then I won't feel like writing it in my paper diary.

Anyway, I had a really lousy night of sleep last night. I went to bed around 9-ish or 10, then had some funky dream with ghosts in it and such. When I woke up at 11:35, I COULD NOT get back to sleep. For the first half hour or so, I had this uneasy feeling (the sort I always get after having a dream like that...it wasn't that the dream was scary, but ghosts always make me uneasy). I listened to a couple of CDs, then read "The Wishsong of Shannara" for awhile (Allanon died! *cries* Okay, I already knew that, but still!)...and then by the time 2 am rolled around, I finally managed to drift off. But it was a restless sort of sleep, and when my alarm rang at 6 am I was definitely not feeling rested.

Thankfully, my day passed pretty quickly and painlessly. That kid Ryan (the one I can't stand) was back today, and kept calling me "Sweet Amber" again. I hate that. He called me "sweetheart" once, and I was like, "What?!" He argued that I'd just called him "honey" or something like that, but I'd called Frank that when he walked into the bakery! Eesh! When Frank walked past me the one time, he asked if Ryan was bothering me. I said yeah, so he replied, "Alright, I'll take care of him." *giggles* Found out later that he'd once again said to Ryan, "Leave my girlfriend alone." (Dunno if I've written in here that he said that to Ryan once before, quite some time ago.)

Later on, Frank called over to the bakery (by using the phone, not by shouting, hehe), and asked me when I was going on lunch and if I wanted company. I said sure. But I'd forgotten that I had planned on finding Geoff on my way to the break room and dragging him along with me! So I didn't get to do that. But if all goes as planned tomorrow, then it won't matter. ^_^

Jen's baby shower last night was fun. I'd looked at the invitation the night before last and realized that I was supposed to have RSVPed by January 3rd! I don't get formal invitations more than once a psychadelic-rainbowed moon, so my etiquette skills in such matters are lacking. Mom told me to call Debbie at home, but as I've mentioned before, I have a real paranoia of phones (especially when calling a place where I don't know who'll answer the phone). So I ended up staying awake 'til 4:30, when Debbie started work.

"I know this is a really odd time to be calling," I said to her, "but I was looking at the baby shower invitation last night and I realized I hadn't RSVPed!"

She was like, "Aww!" Hehe...Anyway, when I got to the shower yesterday and told Mare and Joanne and a few others my story, I found out that none of them had RSVPed anyway! >_< Oh well, it's still bad manners not to, so I'm glad I did...even if it was at 4:30 in the morning!

In my attempts to be different with my gifts, I ended up being just one of the crowd. Jen received not one bottle, which I thought she'd get in abundance. She got plenty of little outfits and things, two packs of diapers, plenty of booties and socks and other little accessories (Cheryl's sister crocheted a blanket, which was GORGEOUS)...and a thermometer for every place a temperature could be taken. Seriously. Someone gave her an ear thermometer, I gave the pacifier thermometer, Linda gave her these little patch things you stick under the arm, and yet someone else had bought a rectal thermometer. I'm imagining the baby with a temperature-reading device sticking out of ears, mouth, and bum, and it's really funny.

The future baby will also be a very clean one. I think Jen got like 20 baby washcloths, and someone bought her baby shampoo and "body wash". Ah, in today's society, even a newborn can enjoy his or her very own body wash.

Since Cheryl's sister crocheted that lovely blanket, I guess it wouldn't matter much if I made one of my own, huh? Still, I'd like to figure out how my Yellow Blankie was done so that I could make baby blankets. After all, I'm getting to the age where before long, friends will start having children and all that! Yeah, I know, my close friends aren't even MARRIED yet, so I'd like to hope that children will be very far off! But I've still got friends at work, and knowing how to make baby blankets would be very nice! Besides, I'd always wanted to sort of "take over" Grammy's place after she passed away. She always made blankets for new additions to the family, and her embroidery was so beautiful. Someday, maybe I'll get to be the lovable matriarch. ;)

I'm getting rather ahead of myself, aren't I? Oh well. I just remembered, Mom wants me to look on the Internet to see if Gary Puckett will be down in Disney World again this summer. The Flower Power concerts are TOO cool. Gary, Peter Noone, the Turtles, the Buckinghams, Davy Jones...I never got to see anybody but the Buckinghams and Gary Puckett, but if I could see Peter and Davy, I'd be thrilled! I really want to see the Grass Roots, but I don't know if that'll ever happen...

At any rate, Gary will probably be down there around late May or early June, as he's been the past two times. I definitely want to go, but at the same time I wonder if Mom and I would be able to, since it's only a couple of months after we'll have moved out of this house. How long will it take us to get settled financially? Actually, a vacation will probably be good for us, because I'm sure we'll both be quite emotionally distraught.

On that note, I'm going to go look up those concert dates now.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!