Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Magic bus
Written on Friday, Jul. 25, 2003 at 2:36 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Yeesh, where's Lola when you have a sex story? *grins teasingly*

Anyway, today was more of the usual dull boredom...BUT, I can finally say that I have completed my first sewing project! I started the hemming late last night, but then this afternoon I finished it...and the hem is practically invisible, which of course is the goal. I'm really impressed with myself, 'cause this skirt doesn't really look homemade. It could have used another layer of fabric, since you can see silhouettes underneath if there's bright light behind the person, but at least I know to choose thicker fabric next time. :P Still, I'm proud of it! I know Mom won't wear it, 'cause it's not her style, but if she ever gets desperate for something to wear...well, she's got a handmade skirt. *chuckles*

On the negative side of things, we got to talking about going back to college, and she said that Toad might end up coming. Seeing the look I gave her and how I was about to put words to that look, she quickly reminded, "It is his Blazer we're using." Blah blah, she said something about how she needed companionship too, and meanwhile my mood was getting blacker and blacker.

"Keep him away from me, then," I stated, sliding off my chair. "I hate his f*ing ass."

*ducks head* I try not to swear, I really do. Especially using that particular word. But for goodness's sake, does she not realize that I don't want to be anywhere around him?? It's not like I've been throwing tantrums telling her that she can't even hang out with him, but I don't want to be ANYWHERE near him. And there really isn't any reason that he needs to come up to Clarion with us. If she's trying to suggest that because I might be having MY friends come up, she should have her own...well, I wasn't the one who invited Geoff and Tim. It was her. And I'd just as soon not have either of them come up, not because I don't want them around, but just because it doesn't make much of a difference either way. Mom has even told Charlie that I hate him, and yet he persists in trying to buzz around like a particularly annoying mosquito.

I understand that she's allowed to have new relationships (despite the fact that she's not even divorced yet), but I will not agree to hang out around him just for her. I'm not required to like everybody she likes.

If I had a vehicle large enough, I'd just do the moving by myself. Or, if I could convince them to rent a big van or something of that sort, I'd beg Geoff and Tim to just take me themselves. Mom shouldn't have to transport me all the time, and I have to admit that it'd be rather nice to do some of these things for once without her there.

Ugh, that sounds so mean and selfish of me. I don't mean that I never want her around, I'd just like to be able to do things like this without her. I'm 22, for crying out loud! I ought to be doing things on my own! But until I graduate and can get a job of my own (*coughs* And marry Geoff), I'm going to have to be at least somewhat dependent on her. Once I move out, she can bring home just as many men as she wants to. :P

There's a new community thingy that's being built in Clarion, and it'll be finished in August of 2004--just in time for me to move out of the dorms! Assuming I have transportation, of course, since I think this place is a few miles away from campus. At any rate, the article I read said that these apartments can room up to 4 people, and all of them get their own private rooms. How great would that be? The whole point in moving out of the dorms is to get your own place, and I really wouldn't have to go back to sharing a room again if I didn't have to. My biggest problem right now, however, is having too many possible roommates! *laughs* Amanda, Kevin, and I have talked about finding a place for ages (tho granted, I don't know if Amanda will be able to, since she's bound to the sorority AND she wants to spend a semester in England, the lucky duck!). Kristen, my current roommate, also wants to room with me in an apartment. And then if mah Tiff moves to Clarion to get her Master's, I'd of course want to room with her (assuming she wants to room with me, lol)! So there we go, too many roommates and too little space. Heehee...THIS is why I wish I could have convinced the realtor (and the sellers) to rent out Little Blue Spire (as I've named it)! With the 12 rooms that house has, we would definitely not be hurting for space!

Y'know, as much as I complained about Kristen this past semester, I really don't mind the idea of sharing an apartment with her. So long as we had separate rooms, of course. She really is a good girl, and I couldn't have asked for a better, more respectful roommate. She got kind of fanatically religious there toward the end, but she never once tried to push her beliefs in my face. And yeah, I got annoyed with the way she was always asking me where I was going and all that stuff, but at least she was concerned for me. So I really wouldn't mind sharing an apartment with her...but unfortunately, I don't think anybody else wants to share with her! :

I finally broke down and called Geoff tonight, despite my vow that I would just wait until he missed me enough that he took the initiative. I'm so weak. >_< 'Course, he wasn't even there when I called (turns out, he was visiting his mom and brother again), but he called me back around 10 and we talked for a couple of hours. Turns out, he and Tim didn't go very far away at all! Just down to the shore...which is kinda funny, since Geoff is like me and doesn't really like the ocean. :P Tim, being his weird self, had his fortune told and also paid for Geoff to have his told (he paid before Geoff knew what was happening, so he couldn't object...bwe he he). Nowhere in his fortune was anything said about a tall, curvy, gorgeous brunette that he would eventually ravish marry, but those fortune tellers are a hoax anyway. ;)

Tim had told me a little earlier (Mom called him at work) that they drove over to Atlantic City and apparently rode in one of those push-car things in tribute to me. *rolls eyes* Nice to know they thought of me, at any rate!

He (Tim) was also telling me that Geoff's sister was coming out from Pittsburgh to spend a week or something...I think they all know something the rest of us don't about their mother. She's 79 or something like that, so she's definitely no young thing, but from the way Tim was putting it, lately Geoff's been saying things like, "Who knows how much longer she'll be around"...and usually, his sister only stays for 3 days or so during visits but this time she's going to be around for an entire week, and they're all going out...somewhere (lol, I forget what he told me). It's all just sort of strange, almost as though they've got a kind of 6th sense about her. And I know it probably seems weird that I should even care, since I've never met the woman and I'm not even dating Geoff or anything. But if nothing else, he's a dear friend of mine and he's told me enough stories about his mother to make her a little more real to me. So I worry (probably needlessly, hehe).

Speaking of her, though, on the phone tonight Geoff told me that he has to take her to the doctor tomorrow. "Darn!" was my inward thought, but then at the end of the conversation he asked if I wanted to hang out tomorrow night. "I think the day's out of the question, since I have to take her to the doctor," he said a moment afterward. Bwa ha ha! Yay for the invitations! That means he wants to hang out, not that he feels obligated, right? *giggles* Yeah, it has to mean that 'cause otherwise he would have just said "I'll talk to you tomorrow...or whenever?" like he's done before. So I'm good. :P

Early this morning (I didn't go to bed until 9 am! Ee!), I was looking around the eBay automotive section, drooling (of course) over the VW buses on display. One of them was white on top, but the sides were painted this light, creamy "velvet green" (as the description said). And then another one was white on top but with powder blue sides. I was filled with desire for both of these buses. Of course, both of them had bids up in the thousands, and I think the sellers both lived in California...so even if I had ANY money, they were still both out of the question. I found a couple camper-type buses that were being sold from Virginia, but usually they're all being sold from California--with small print that reads, "Buyer must pay for shipping or arrange a pickup." Yeah, like I could get all the way out to California. X_X

And I just discovered last night that all the buses are stick shifts! LOL...Well okay, I always figured that they must be manual, since I don't think automatic shifter things were around back then (or if they were, they weren't very common). But discovering that yes, these buses I want so dearly are stick shifts is just like...a crushing blow. I do well enough just to drive automatic! Can you imagine me trying to shift gears, stalling out half the time?

There is a plus to this dilemma, however, just in case you were thinking that all was in vain. Upon telling my woeful story to Geoff, he told me that he could teach me how to drive a stick shift. His car has one, y'see. How's that for a come-on, though?

"Let me drive your stick shift, baby."

Hee hee! Okay, okay, I'm sorry. I'll turn my mind to something above the gutter. Actually, I'm thinking about making one of those "Extras" pages. It would remove a couple of links from the menu on the right side, and it would allow me to add a few more things for people to look at, too! Like my fanfiction. Even though they aren't anything to rave about. Oo, that reminds me, though...

I got a review for my latest fanfic, and I forget exactly what the girl said, but it sounded like something I would have written at one time. :P Whenever I read a story that's really good, or even if I read someone's diary and connect somehow with what they've said, I tend to get a little overexcited. *chuckles* I guess it's probably a compliment to the person that anyone would get so wound up, but half the time when I email them I think I end up scaring them off with my enthusiasm. So yeah, that's what this review reminded me of, and I sat here for at least 2 minutes just grinning shyly (as though the person had given me the compliment to my face!) and thinking "That was so nice!"

I'm so bad at taking compliments in person, because I never know how to act. Inside I'm beaming, but I feel like it would be awkward to show that much enthusiasm on the outside...and I think part of the reason might be because I'm so distrustful as to the sincerity of the compliment. It's not a new thing for people to compliment me as a joke (though admittedly, that only happened during middle school...still, it didn't have a good effect on me!). I need to work on my compliment-taking skills.

The Jethro Tull concert is getting closer and closer. I just randomly thought about that, hehe...I'm not sure what's got me more excited: the concert, or the fact that it's also Geoff's birthday and I can't wait to give him his present! Have I mentioned yet what I bought him? If I haven't, I don't plan to 'til after the event. Ya never know if he might just accidentally come across this place, and then the surprise would be ruined!

To be honest, though, there are worse things he could see here than his birthday present. *giggles* I'm not sure how he'd react if he knew that I was practically telling his life story here in my little corner of the diarying world! XP

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!